Sadie Log Cabin 5m x 3m

 
11 Reviews  

5 stars
 
4 stars
 
3 stars: 
 
2 stars: 
 
1 stars: 
 




Reviews

Mrs. EL James
Apr 25, 2022
We bought a sadie cabin from tuin following a recommendation from a friend who bought a small cabin to house garden furniture. We were looking for a space for my teenaged/adult children to socialise and wanted a space big enough for a seated table area and a comfy sofa space.
We are not DIY enthusiasts and have no experience of building anything other than a B&Q shed which fell apart and rotted where we hadn't quite got it right so this purchase was daunting. We watched you tube after you tube video and all the ones on the TUIN website as well as reading all the blogs on Tuin before we went for it. The base was done for us by another company and was nicely level but even so, laying the composit beams, cutting them to size and making sure all was square was stressful and probably the more difficult part of the build. Once done, the cabin was like a lego pack and went up very quickly. Important to stop and check every few layers that you're still square at the corners as the cabin still moves as you work on it but we did that ok. We chose to insulate our roof so after the roof boards were nailed in, we secured battons over the top and inserted PIR boards covered with Ply. This means raising the facia board which looked terrible with only one board. We chose to abandon a board at the back of the cabin and use it to attach to the front one so that we had a two board width of facia to play with. It worked well. We then fitted the EPDM roofing which was MUCH easier than we had expected. Its a nice heavy material so doesn't flap about, sits where you put it and is nice and flexible. As a whole sheet though for this size its VERY heavy and needs a few of you to pull it into place. Finally we also insulated the floor before adding the boards we bought with the cabin from Tuin.
IN terms of difficulty, the instructions could be much better-bit more in line with lego instructions or IKEA so there was some confusion over which nails or screws went where etc, also the fitting of the doors was hard as there were limited instructions for novices on how to adjust the hinges and get a good fit. That said, when we ran into those problems we emailed the help desk and no matter what day or time, someone responded within 20 minutes which is EXCELLENT customer service- really never experiences such quick assistance anywhere else. This meant that we could get help throughout and solve issues where instructions didn't make sense to us. We now have a warm, beautiful cabin which all of us are enjoying as a purpose built social space. We are all really pleased with it. It has tamped down with rain already and we've had no issues with ingress of water (we have fitted a gutter to the rear to collect rain water or it really will pour like a water fall and splashes up the back of the cabin). It was an expensive treat to buy the cabin but well worth it so far. It's been completed for a few weeks now, fully treated with recommended stain/protection so I hope that it will last many years.
Mr. Gary Fisher
Mar 22, 2022
Everything think about our order was perfect from the delivery to the actual cabin itself
The delivery driver rang us before he arrived to make sure there was enough space for his very large lorry and was friendly and put it just where we wanted on our driveway
I didn’t really know what to expect for quality of wood but I have to say it’s fantastic
I will order was originally for 8 to 9 weeks waiting list but we received it after around six which was a great bonus
Erecting the Sadie cabin was surprisingly simple and between two people we had it complete in two days
It is very solid great to look at and has now become our garden bar look forward to welcoming many friends when we are allowed
Thank you Tuin dealing with you has been a pleasure
Yvonne Stewart
Dec 1, 2021
Bought the Sadie log cabin which was delivered on the day stated and placed as near as possible to site by delivery driver. Myself and a friend unwrapped and carried to site within an hour and checked and placed ready for build next day, Erected fully the next day once we checked composite base for level and Squareness and following instructions from blogs etc. fitted the Rubber sheet roof covering the next day. Found the product to be sturdy and well manufactured. it was a week later before we had some heavy rain to test weatherproofing. We had some water ingress on top of windows where I feel there should be some sort of weather bar supplied- I contacted Tuin to explain my findings and the promptly offered to send us a weather bar but I had already made one up and fitted which has corrected the Fault. Apart from that small fault I find the Tuin Cabin to be an excellent product at a fair price.
Mr. Ben Toon
Nov 17, 2021
We received our Sadie log cabin mid July, the delivery was quick, easy and very professional. The cabin came direct from Holland. The guy was friendly and dropped it at the front of the house using a Moffett truck.

The cabin was built by two friends with carpentry experience, even though my DIY skills aren’t great the instructions were easy to follow once the wood was all in order and foundations base down.

The quality of the cabin is amazing and couldn’t recommend enough. It was fully built within 9 hours apart from the rubber roof being fitted, as there wasn’t any adhesive supplied so I had to purchase it the next day.

Finally I would 100% recommend this log cabin it’s made a perfect bar in my garden.


Anne Overy
Oct 8, 2021
Although there was a wait for the log cabin it was worth it, great quality wood and well made Windows and doors, I was kept up to date with everything and any questions I had were answered very quickly, I would certainly recommend this company and products
Stewart Bannerman
Mar 29, 2021
I can't speak more highly of my Sadie 40mm Log Cabin, that I have put in my back garden. It's a 5m x 3m (self) build which I completed in Oct.2020, which now houses my twin businesses - as a Sports Therapist / and bespoke Vinyl Record Cleaning. There's plenty of room for my Sports Therapy treatment couch/bed and equipment on one side, and at the opposite end, I have recycled kitchen units and work surface area for the record cleaning side of things.
When I first researched what I wanted to build, one of my main concerns was that we live in the West of Scotland, which is wet and windy a great deal of the time, and would the cabin be warm and cosy enough to treat my patients, say in the dead of winter. Well I can tell you that an hour of heat from a portable electric fan heater prior to a treatment appointment, warms the place up beautifully, and surprisingly maintains the heat for long after. In the late summer when we actually built the kit up, and then did the roof and floor insulations, and then the inside fit out, the bare inside of the cabin was the coolest place to be other than the main house. So I'm ever hopeful that when it comes to doing my treatments in the summer months it will be as equally cool and comfortable as it is now, fingers crossed?
In these strange times of this pandemic, I have also seen that a few of my neighbours have also erected out buildings in their gardens, and by all accounts and from seeing them myself, they are all inferior products and builds compared to the Tuin kit I have, plus are unlikely to be totally useable all the year round. They're either huts or sheds, they're not a cabin!
The information for building your own cabin is also fantastic, with great video and blog advice from the guys who actually put these up, plus there's loads of other advice for your own requirements, like what your going to build onto, or how your going to insulate and roof. Crickey! I'm a Sports Therapist, middle age (56 at time of build), reasonable fit I suppose/guess? If I can do it with the help of my nephew, you can too.
Mr. Douglas Wildman
Jan 4, 2021
Very pleased from start to finish with the cabin.
Good communication throughout. Was very straight forward to build with good instructions and well made parts.
Wouldn’t hesitate to buy another and will be recommended to anyone interested in a cabin for the garden
Mr. Paul Boulton
Nov 30, 2020
We purchased the Sadie log cabin worth every penny. On the day of delivery driver unloaded with in half hour on the drive no problem. Unpack it .put all parts in order ready for next day Brother in-law and I put it together in one day . These cabins are so well designed you can’t go wrong ordered epdm roofing went on a dream . now ordered Milan log cabin so impressed
Julie Wilson
Nov 13, 2020
Delighted with our Sadie Cabin, its been built about a month now, I am loving the Cabin so far and although not the best of weather for sitting out we have managed a few nights so far. lovely and cosy and delighted with how it looks with my new furniture etc all in, cant wait to get it decorated for Xmas. Ordered and fitted the storm kit as we live in the Highlands of Scotland, it seems a bit flimsy as just some threaded bar and spring which screws into top and lower logs but Im hoping it does the job its bought for as it does get rather windy here with us, I would have preferred the wooden option as shown on the webpage but couldnt see where to order them so going to see about getting some made locally to add on just for the extra piece of mind. Also not sure yet what I think of the Carefree treatment that is recommended, we have given four coats outside so far and two inside. we have done the outside with the light oak and inside with clear. it went on great but my only complaint is that when masking tape was removed it also took off the treatment right back to bare wood which I didnt expect as it is supposed to penetrate deep into the wood, its not cheap either so hoping it has done the job as expected.
Mr. Garry Slatter
Nov 2, 2020
Fantastic bit of kit bit slow at starting as the instructions where in Dutch also we asked for some guttering for our flat roof and we had to buy some more things so be aware of that but apart from that I’m talking to you from my 5 x 3 log cabin and I think they’re great
John McInally
Apr 9, 2020
Just like to say how pleased in general I am with this product.
From the beginning, delivery was excellent and I can confirm that living in a narrow road cul de sac is no barrier whatsoever.
Very easy to build, did it myself to roof level then helped by brother in law for roof and laying of roofing membrane. Two days total. On completion finished off in 2 coats of quality paint. Making the floor later was nearly a whole day two man job due to the cutting required. Electrical - 6 double sockets, 2 inside lights, 1 outside light took another day.
All in all well pleased, most of it is a "She Shed" for the missus for her crafting work, I have less than a 1/3 of it (which I partitioned with excess wood) in which I keep my fishing stuff, walking gear etc. Additionally I also managed to build a wood store with the excess from the pallet and flooring.
In summary good quality, excellent workmanship on all the delivered items and great delivery I couldn't be more pleased. John, Argyll.