Carefree Protectant Timber Treatment

 
238 Reviews  

5 stars
 
4 stars
 
3 stars
 
2 stars
 
1 stars
 




Reviews

Mr. Stephen Collins
Feb 19, 2024
Seems like a good product. Easy to apply, if rather time consuming to give 4 coats. Time will tell if the product works well but the information on the Tuin website suggest it does.
Mrs nina noke
Feb 10, 2024
Lovely paint .we used it in our log cabin that houses our jacuzzi .just did 2 coats as wanted the wood to show through.

It's done the job brilliantly , despite breaking the bank with the cost .but as we only did the inside it could have been a lot more expensive .
Mr. M Warham
Feb 3, 2024
After a wet year last year and a hot dry year this year, the timber protectant is doing well. Cabin has weathered slightly, especially some patches on the door, but this may be due some contamination before the protectant was applied.
nigel king
Feb 2, 2024
this seems to be a very good product easy to put on nice colour cant comment on its sustainability as only been on for a few weeks.
Mr. John Spiller
Jan 12, 2024
Purchased this on recommendation and used it in the first instance to treat the base and underside of a shepherds hut. Easy to apply and appreciate its ability to cover and protect the wood. Have complete confidence that it will do the job and for the long term.
Greg Lamb
Oct 31, 2023
I built my Rick cabin in summer 2021 and gave it 3 coats externally of concrete grey Carefree. I was very happy with how it went on and the overall appearance. Now, 2 years later, the coating is showing considerable signs of wear and tear. The pictures show how it has cracked and flaked. This is the west facing wall and the other walls are still good, and the inside is untreated, but it is interesting that the standard blue house paint I put on the window frames has no similar cracking. I still have a can of Carefree, so I will recoat this wall, but it seems that we should expect a regular re-painting to keep the appearance and protection. Disappointing, given the hype for this product.
Tuin reply: Hi Greg, Thank you for the Feedback

We don't typically see this happening. When stirred well before use and you get 3 - 4 layers applied it tends to be a very reliable product. Please do get in touch by email so we can work something out.
Julian Walters
Oct 20, 2023
Bought this product to cover a 5 x 4m Spruce Log Cabin on the outside. Application is very easy as its pretty watery, so don't overload the brush, and after the first coat which obviously penetrates the wood the remaining applications go on even easier, as they penetrate less, and provide more of a surface coating. That being said, the comment about a 2.5 litre tin covering roughly 15 to 20 Sqm is completely wrong I'm afraid and very understated. I used almost exactly 1 x 2.5 litre tin per complete coat (including doors and window frames). As this stuff is eye wateringly expensive don't buy more than you should, otherwise you will be left holding the spare cans for quite a while!
Once on, the Product appears to provide a high level of water resistance, which is currently being well tested by this so called Summer weather we are currently having!
Ease of use - 5 stars
Covering estimate as stated by Tuin - 2 star.
Efficiency of Product - 4 stars at the moment, and it certainly looks as if it will be good for quite sometime.
Mrs. Christine R
Aug 24, 2023
this product was great to work with, as it didn’t need such a long time to dry like other treatments. Although, try not to use during really hot days because it dries too quickly. Loved that it washed out of brushes easily as well.

The clear is very clear (as others have said) but brings out the natural look of the wood nicely. I was going for a white-wash look inside the cabin and so, 1-2 coats of the white colour sufficed. However, if you’re looking for an opaque white finish, you’ll need to apply several layers. Quite pricey, however, saved me so much in drying and cleaning time!
Mr. Stephen Farrow
Aug 22, 2023
Very easy to apply looks good on the log cabin ,hope it does what it say on the tin in the future.
Mr. chris gowman
Aug 7, 2023
I was really pleased with this product, it goes on very easily and dries to the touch within an hour or so. it is hard to see where you have coated but in good light on first application you can see a slight colour change in the wood where you have brushed. I hope it provides the wood protection claimmed.
Mr. Sean Bevis
Jul 31, 2023
Easy to apply. Gives a good seal
Stephen Boyd Davis
Jul 11, 2023
I was happy with the Carefree Protectant Timber Treatment.

Two tins were enough for two coats on the outside surfaces of a shed 6ft x 6ft (Tuin Boudewijn). The treatment went on well and was easy to apply. It was also easy to wash out of brushes using soap and water.

I cannot comment on its long-term protection, as I have only just used it.
Mark
Jul 2, 2023
I purchased the clear carefree protectant as we like the natural wood look and it works great.
Brings out the grain and is very clear. So clear you need to keep checking if you have missed a bit.
Only done one coat so far as the weather is being a pain but hope to get a couple more coats on soon.
Recommended.
Ian Saunders
Jun 8, 2023
Very good coverage. Leaves a rubber like film over the covered surface that would appear to be a great barrier to moisture.
Mr. steven joyner
Jun 5, 2023
great product, ordered 4 tins so far and will order 2 more as needed to apply 3 -4 coats on my cabin to afford complete protection, thanks
peter lowe
May 5, 2023
although this is quite expensive , it covers really well and the brushes clean easily in water.
Mr. John Holsman
May 2, 2023
Thought this preparation was a bit pricey at first but it goes a long way, but having paid £1400 for the timber only the best treatment will do.
By goodness, it goes a long way, should get four coats out of two 2.5 litre cans.
Quality of the treatment goes with the quality of the timber, both first class.
Looks really good,neighbours are all jealous.
Mr. Terence Parkes
Apr 21, 2023
Paint has now cured and it is looking good. It seam to give a rubbery/plastic coating. Here's to the future!
Sergiu Calmis
Apr 18, 2023
Very good quality
Mr. james bonam
Mar 30, 2023
expensive stuff but easy to brush on as it is not gloopy. Delivery was quick.only time will tell but I took delivery of my log cabin in October so only had time to do one coat before the dark nights set in and the cold wet weather but we are in February now and I had a look round the cabin and I don't see any poor areas or staining so the timber treatment did protect through out the winter. Going to wait till we get longer evening and give it two more coats.i have seen of my friends buy a new shed and put poor quality treatment on and within a year it looked awful so at the end of the day you get what you pay for.tuin log cabins are not the cheapest but quality is great and in my opinion its worth spending that bit extra on wood care that way you could quite easily get 20 years out of a cabin
Mr. John Rickerby
Mar 15, 2023
Got Carefree timber treatment for piece of mind very easy to apply.
Mr. Daryl Pryce
Mar 13, 2023
Use this on my recently built cabin, lots of products on the market but went with this simply because it was recommended by Tuin. Very expensive but the reviews were good. It does go a long way and up to now seems to protect well, but guess time will tell. If price is the main factor this isn’t for you, £70 plus a tin, just hope it’s worth it.
Mary McLaren
Mar 1, 2023
The clear Carefree Protectant was easy to apply, and left our new Skov cabin just a slightly darker natural colour than it started. We used 4 cans to give 3 coats on the outside and one on the inside. The cabin's looking great and we hope the Carefree Protectant will help keep it that way.
Mr. John Parry
Feb 24, 2023
I've used the clear Carefree Protectant on my new cabin and I am delighted with the result. I applied three coats and the product is very easy to apply with a paintbrush. Drying time is very quick and being a water based product it's easy to clean up painting equipment afterwards.
Rowena
Feb 21, 2023
The product is easy to use. Good that it's water soluble so easy to wash brushes. Only thing is it quite easily goes frothy when applying, and if on a rough surface, you have to be careful not to leave any froth as it dries white, but is a clear colour!
Ms. Jennifer Axon
Feb 19, 2023
Bought the clear as convinced it's the best. Goes on well, just over 1 x 2.5 litre tin for first coat. Looks lovely!
Mr. Frederick Webb
Feb 18, 2023
Expensive treatment compared to others but goes on really well and dries very quickly so repeat coat can be done in the day. Interesting smell like old sweets and has a pink tinge. Log cabin given 4 coats and looks fabulous!
Mr. Ian Bartram
Feb 12, 2023
Carefree Protectant Timber Treatment is great! Dries really quickly and with a really nice finish. We had the clear treatment, which dries in about 15 - 20 mins, so you need to be sure of the areas that you have covered. Gave the Log Cabin 3 coats outside and in!
Tom S
Feb 9, 2023
I ordered some of the light oak colour, as well as black for trims and door surrounds. Best to avoid applying in heat or direct sunlight as dries very quickly. Warning for lights oak - it will make your cabin orange! I'm now trying to find ways to undo the orange colour, so any help appreciated!!
Mr. Terry Shepherd
Jan 31, 2023
Whilst it's impossible for me to review the longevity without a crystal ball, I do have great confidence in the product. It is expensive and it is water based, these would both normally be negatives in my opinion. However the way it adheres to, and covers the timber along with the ease of use and the pleasing look of the finish has definitely won me over. During the hot summer the timber has expanded and the treatment has stretched and split over some of the log joins. But as the cabin returns to 'winter size' the gaps close back up. And at no time has rain penetrated through to the wood. Despite my misgivings initially (water base) I am very pleased with the product.
Mr. Chris Paginton
Jan 30, 2023
Superb product, worth paying more for. Does exactly what it says on the tin.
Peter Hart
Jan 16, 2023
Excellent product and well worth the money. Quite watery but looks great after 4 coats
Mrs. Linda Dobie
Jan 7, 2023
This is the 5th tin of carefree protection timber treatment. We have used it for our Emma cabin decking and wooden railings. If iit stays looking as good as it does now it will be worth the expense.
Mr. Ian Dunbar
Jan 3, 2023
So easy to apply and we did two coats in one day. Coverage is as per the tin.
If in doubt ask the girls in the office at Tuin for how much to get. Great service
john Miller
Dec 18, 2022
very easy to apply, quick drying so can apply a few coats in one day.
Mr. barry jaggs
Dec 6, 2022
After reading reviews that were all good I decided to buy 3 pots of concrete grey and 3 of white after giving a very good stir put the grey on covers really well and goes a long way the white is very wishy washy but persevere and the white comes good.
My tip is to use a cheaper paint for inside as it costs a lot and I wasnt sure to keep buying tins for inside. I had a 5 metre x 5 metre to paint.
Gavin Jakeman
Dec 6, 2022
Excellent product. You can really see how it prevents the absorption of water during even the heaviest of rain storms
Paul Bugge
Nov 30, 2022
Superb product (if expensive) but worth every penny.
Don't treat your cabin with anything else!
Mrs. Ferguson
Nov 21, 2022
Excellent product, easy application and definitely does what it says on the tin. You can see it doing its job especially with all the heavy rain this year.
Would highly recommend Tuin for Cabins and their own treatments products. 5 stars all round.
Mr. Brian Monk
Nov 12, 2022
I had never heard of this paint but it did have very good comments on the thin website. I liked the idea of a semi opaque paint so that the grain of the wood can still be seen. So I bought it! Using it is very simple. It does need a good stir but after that it goes on very easy. It also has a good coverage. I have only done one coat at the moment but have plenty left for a second and even a possible third coat!
Kate Wilson
Nov 9, 2022
Expensive but does what it says on the tin. Looks good in the pine I used
David Sinclair
Nov 4, 2022
Very good coverage - of course it will take several years to find out really, but it appears to be a high quality product. The actual paint is quite 'gloopy' and goes on easily.
Mr. Ian Davies
Oct 20, 2022
Super product. Very easy to apply, no overpowering smell and simple to clean up after.
Since application our Cornish weather hasn't stood a chance against this timber treatment and I am extremely pleased with the results. Will definitely be back for more!
Mr. Timothy Wise
Oct 16, 2022
The Carefree Protectant Timber treatment is a very effective coating. It covers extremely well and is easy to apply. The coats take about 15 minutes to dry in warm weather. It woks in quickly especially to end grain. A good reasonably price timber treatment. Recommended.
Mr. Neil McGuire
Oct 8, 2022
This product went on to the wood cabin really well. I’ve done two coats and now the autumn has arrived and we have had lots of rain I can see that the water is beading on the wood and not soaking in. I can highly recommend this product.
Adrian Taylor
Oct 7, 2022
Carefree Protectant Timber Treatment is easy to apply and provides a good waterproof layer to protect your summerhouse timber and base.
Robert Graham
Sep 30, 2022
Great timber treatment hesitant at first with it starting with concrete and timber protectant but it went on great got 4 tins delivered with cabin and it did 3 Coates have ordered another 2
pine it looks well.
Tuin reply: Thanks Robert, glad to hear the Pine Carefree went on well and is looking top notch
Gurmeet Birring
Sep 21, 2022
I used this to paint my 3.5 x 3.5 Mitch corner gazebo. I did one coat before assembly then a second once up. Coverage was great as I used less than 1.5 tins.
Finish looks really good and looks like it will last.
I ordered the anthracite but it’s hard to tell the difference from black.
Mr. Terence Parkes
Sep 17, 2022
Needs two good coats, looks good, time will tell.
Mr. Graham Pritchard
Sep 13, 2022
We are very pleased with the service and delivery from Tuin. Currently waiting for a dry spell so that we can apply to our cabin, which we are also extremely pleased with.
Mrs. Angela Stewart
Sep 2, 2022
Amazing paint & goes a long way! . We just love the colours. We decided to go Grey on cabin & black on doors!
Owen Glyn Jones
Aug 28, 2022
Excellent !!!
Recently used on a new log cabin and is definitely keeping the water out. The water just runs off or bubbles on top.
Andrew Hemley
Aug 24, 2022
Well packaged, great coverage, soaked in well. Pricey but well worth the money- tho it hasn't rained for months so haven't seen its performance in the wet
Tuin reply: Thank you Andrew, pictures like these are very helpful to help gauge the true colour of treatment when buying online, This is the "Light oak" colour
Peter Hyne
Aug 9, 2022
Expensive ...yes but worth it YES, great coverage and easy to apply. The anthracite is quite dark, almost black in some light but very smart.
Mr. Luke Pennington
Aug 8, 2022
Only done one coat of the light oak so far but can tell it is a quality product . Has a nice skin that repels rain even with one coat.
Mr. Malcolm Carey
Aug 1, 2022
Absolutely love this, it was so easy to apply and the finish is great. It is expensive but as they say ‘you get what you pay for’. As we’d spent a lot on our cabin it seemed silly to risk using a cheaper, possibly poor quality product. Very happy and would definitely recommend.
Ms. sandra green
Jul 25, 2022
Good product in itself but be warned about ‘light oak’
More like ‘bad spray tan orange’.
Don’t be like us - please do a test piece !!
With regard to protection it’s very good but the colour of this product has spoiled our log cabin experience.
Now got to find something to detract from it.
Mr. Thomas Barrett
Jul 12, 2022
Carefree Protectant timber clear treatment is expensive , easy to apply and dries quickly, but after multiple coats during the 20 months since cabin was purchased and treated the cabin surface is starting to be stained black and the wood protection is starting to peel off exposing the bare wood of the cabin . Very disappointed in the long term protection.
Tuin reply: Thank you for the feedback although we're sorry to hear it, When using any clear treatment you do have to be very methodical in terms of where has and hasn't been treated during each layer. Its very easy to lose track and accidently miss areas

Carefree protect is in the more expensive category of treatment but that is for good reason, when applied evenly and methodically its proven to be very effective.

Nearly all of our showsite cabins were treated with clear carefree and have been for around 5 years now, none of them are showing signs of discolouration

Daniel Breeze
Jul 7, 2022
I am very happy with the Carefree Light Oak treatment. Applies easy & clean up is easy as it is water based. Coverage is good & results are impressive. My wife & neighbors where impressed with the Britt cabin, but as soon as the 1st coat of Carefree Light Oak treatment was applied we where all amazed at the transformation. A beautiful oak colour but transparent to see the timber grain beneath. It is more expensive than other products but, the finish & final results are outstanding.
stephen palmer
Jun 12, 2022
Gave the shed 2 coats initially, then 1 coat each year for the next 2 years, still got 1L left out of 5L.
Used a small roller so less spray, only took a couple of hours.
Andrew
Jun 3, 2022
I ordered four tins of this for my log cabin (also Tuin) and the quality is excellent. It is easy to apply and four tins was more than enough for three coats on the outside and two on the inside (Philip cabin, 3.5m x 2.5m). The cabin still looks great a year later after just two coats and I'll be applying the third very shortly.

My only issue is that the tins were pretty bashed up when they arrived, but it's the contents that's important and none of it had leaked.
Mr. Richard Mellis
May 11, 2022
With a cabin on order, and in preparation for that, I ordered some of the Carefree Protectant Timber Treatment for a new fence. Having previously painted gates and fences with standard fence paint, I used a sprayer to apply this to the fence and it went on brilliantly in a very short space of time. Neighbours couldn’t believe how quickly it could be applied and the finish is excellent. Looking forward to receiving our cabin and painting it with more of this treatment. Highly recommended.
Ian Barnes
May 8, 2022
Great product to go on this superb building from Tuin. As always, exemplary service and support provided.
Mr. Ian Sherratt
Apr 7, 2022
Having seen the quality difference between the carefree timber treatment and another I can honestly say how impressed I have been at how the wood still looks compared to the wood painted by another brand. Whilst it is expensive I would consider purchasing it again.
Stephen Mccumiskey
Apr 1, 2022
The carefree protectant timber treatment is high quality.easy to apply and drys quickly.it’s what you need to protect your log cabin
Company Alpha group
Mar 31, 2022
Easy to paint on covers well
Gillian Macmanus
Mar 27, 2022
I am delighted with the two 2.5 litre tins of Carefree Protectant Timber treatment. It was very easy to put on although being clear, I had to concentrate on where I had painted!! My Bo Cabin looks great and after two coats and I still have enough to do a third. Another great benefit for me was the free delivery. Living in the far North of Scotland we usually have to pay over the odds for delivery. From the order, to the lovely delivery driver, who was very knowledgeable about the North of Scotland, Tuin has given me first class service and I would have no problem recommending them to anyone.
Mrs. Charlotte Botes
Mar 17, 2022
Carefree protectant Timber Treatment- fantastic paint lovely colour for summer house more a green sage colour rather than a slate grey. We have had alot of compliments and really easy to apply and a little goes a long way.
Mr. Patrick Kelly
Mar 12, 2022
Expensive but there is a reason for that as it is a top quality product
Rebecca Clayton-Harding
Feb 10, 2022
We ordered the Carefree protectant for timber in 'Anthracite' for our new cabin. After 4 coats it looks absolutely fantastic - modern and yet perfectly at home in our wildlife friendly garden, plus is beautifully waterproof. And boy it has had some testing weather to contend with recently! We could not be happier that we made the investment, not just in our Tuin cabin, but also in this top quality product. One point though, we did not need the 7 cans predicted for our Philip cabin. I would start with 4 - you can always get more if needs be and they can be bought singly if you phone Tuin, rather than ordering online. Highly recommended
H Bisada
Jan 26, 2022
Great Product! We bought a whole Log Cabin from Tuin and was very easy to find the correct and perfect timber treatment from the same company. Thank you for the quality products and easy of use.
Alison Mallia
Nov 14, 2021
Great product. Went on easily and brush washes out in water. Went a long way too. Used it in a bathroom and so far so good! Everything from Tuin has been high quality.
David
Nov 10, 2021
After investing all the time, effort and money building our log cabin I wanted to make sure it’s protected properly. This paint does go on very thinly and does take a few coats to build it up, but the end results are fantastic. It’s also piece of mind to know it’s the right paint for the right job. Expensive but hopefully worth it.
Ronnie
Nov 7, 2021
Excellent product, goes on really easy. Applied the 3 coats recommended but only used 60% of the paint quantity advised.
John Leck
Oct 21, 2021
Bought this to seal and protect our log cabin. Applied two coats at time of build with a 3rd coat just before Autumn. Good product, easy to apply and works a treat :-)
Mr. David Williamson
Oct 12, 2021
There’s an old saying you get what you pay for! This is expensive but you can see the quality after the 1st coat! It doesn’t drip like cheaper products and the finish looks superb! Only time will tell if it performs as it should but I’m sure Tuin wouldn’t sell or recommend it if it didn’t!. In my view it’s worth every penny!
Mr. Scott Robinson
Oct 3, 2021
This paint is probably the most expensive external wood paint you’ve ever bought, but don’t be put off. As soon as you apply two coats you can tell the quality of this product. We applied it to our new Dellinger cabin, and as we spent so much on that, we thought we’d better protect it well. We weren’t disappointed.! The black goes on much easier than the white, nevertheless this goes a long way. We used two 2.5 litre pots of white to give the cabin 2-3 coats all over. We used black on the barge boards, doors and windows and used two 1 litre pots for this. Very happy so far but only time will tell. Be bold and go for it.
Mr. John Dane
Sep 30, 2021
This the very best. used it on the cabin when I built it 2 years ago and it still looks great. Will be retreating next spring but not sure it will need it. A bit pricey but very well with it.

John D
Mr. Bruce Miranda
Jul 11, 2021
This paint is really good. It goes on easily and covers really well. I know the instructions say to use it with a brush but I used a small gloss roller and it made the job really quick. The gloss roller edge was ever able to get between the logs.
The only thing I would say is use a stirrer and really mix the paint well before you use it. The bottom is quite thick and clumpy and needs to be mixed well.
Jessica Melton
May 29, 2021
The timber treatment is really easy to apply and dries quickly. Excellent protection for our cabin, we managed to get all parts covered before all the rain arrived!
Jim Lalley
May 10, 2021
I bought 5 x 2.5l tins to do my Tane cabin. Three outside coats and two inside. Still got 1/2 tin left to do windows and doors again. Easy to apply, I have the clear, which you can see what you’ve done if doing it carefully. As others have said, I have put a lot of time, money and effort into the cabin, so decided to make sure it looks it’s best, with the best treatment!
Helga Stelzhammer
Apr 8, 2021
Tuin Carefree Protectant clear timber treatment is good quality and easy to apply but very expensive (10 litres at £311 – enough for 3 external & 1 internal coats of Justine log cabin). Courier delivered cans badly dented.
Stewart Bannerman
Mar 31, 2021
I had some reservations when purchasing this paint for the inside (white)and outside (concrete grey) of my cabin, due mainly to the cost of it. I thought paint is paint, why so expensive?
Well, once you understand why and what you are trying to do to prolong the life and longevity of you precious new build, then its a No-Brainer not to use this well recommended and exceedingly good paint.
I was well impressed with the coverage it gave, and I painted every piece of the cabin 3 times each (inside and out, and every tongue and groove, and even the roof panels - even though I've insulated above and below), before putting it up.
I did however underestimate how much I would actually use, and had to order another 2 x 2ltr, on top of the 4 initially purchased. I'll also be using it for future re-coats, no worries!
Mr. Andrew Dally
Jan 30, 2021
I bought 3 x 2&1/2 litre tins of this to cover my Emma corner cabin. I’ve only used one tin so far and it covered the full exterior which is 3x3 meters plus the edges of the concrete base and is already water resistant but not waterproof yet as another 2 coats are needed once the weather improves a little. The treatment went on really good and because I’d purchased the pine colour it was easy to see whilst staining . I think that as always you get what you pay for and so far so good.
Tom W
Jan 21, 2021
I did a lot if research on wood treatment and Carefree Protectant received fantastic reviews. Although expensive, I figured it would be worth it and it hasn't disappointed. Easy to apply and clean brushes as it is a water based solution. Dries so quickly as well. Would thoroughly recommend.
Satu
Jul 23, 2020
This paint is easy to apply and dries fast. The clear colour has a slight pink tint before it dries making it easier to see where you have applied but you should apply this quite liberally particularly in the joints were it can be harder to see if you have covered everything. The grey colour is very easy to apply as has a great coverage and colour after two coats (we had previously painted with clear protect so this maybe different if you’re painting on ‘fresh’ wood). The paint also doesn’t completely compromise the lovely natural wood grain texture which is great. I found the white paint quite translusent and needing more coats before having good coverage and colour. All of these paints need to be stirred more than your average paint particularly if you’re using coloured paint to ensure that the colour has properly mixed and the paint achieves the right thickness.
If you’re planning on getting the clear colour and your cabin is in a sunny spot, I would recommend applying a good number of liberal coats (at least 4-5) immediately after the cabin has been built particularly on the sides that are facing the sun. With less than this you’re likely to get sun damage after a few years which is hard and potentially costly to reverse.
Once enough paint has been applied you can see water just running off the surface.
The only downside is the price but I would say that if you protect your cabin properly from the start it’s worth it in the long run.
David
Jun 12, 2020
Quality of stain is excellent. I used one 2.5L tin to provide exactly the right coverage for One coat of a 2.9m x 2.9m Jorgen Pent Cabin.

However the “Light Oak” Colour has actually come up a garish, bright orange which has caused quite a few comments by neighbours and to be honest is really quite ugly.

I have had to now buy a paint to cover it up which I really didn’t want to do.

Credit to Tuin customer service team though, they have been helpful in organising a refund (but it’s still left me out of pocket through returning the product and meant that I’m going to have to now cover up the lovely wood effect of the cabin)

5 stars for the quality of the product and Tuin customer service

1 star for the horrible orange colour of the “Light Oak”
Mr. David Riley
May 26, 2020
Seems good stuff but of course only time will tell. Got a decent colour with 2 coats of Concrete Grey and the third coat didn't make much difference. The white though definitely needed 3 coats and might need a fourth. The coverage rates stated are very accurate, I got more than they quote.

The tins need a really good shake before using and you can get a thicker layer at the bottom of the tin. For the Concrete Grey, this resulted in a bluer shade in places during the second coat so when the next tin was about half empty gave it a stir as the shaking didn't shift it.
Mrs Eve BAILLIE
May 9, 2020
I purchased the timber treatment along with my cabin and have now painted the outside white with grey doors it looks very attractive.

The treatment went on easily it is runny and you have to put on a,number of coats but I think it will protect my cabin for a good view years and it looks very attractive
Mr. Rod Goodman
Mar 31, 2020
Did exactly what it said on the tin - covered excellently and gave us the finish we required. Only awkward bit was initial purchase where we wanted just one tin for the doors and windows but could not purchase it off the web page as there is a minimum purchase of two items, therefore had to contact Tuin directly, and was only able to buy 1 tin because I'd purchased other items previously.
Mr. Michael Kimbriel
Feb 27, 2020
I bought the Light Oak since it's the lightest color, and for an exterior acrylic water based stain it turned out to be very high quality. Stir it well, and apply two coats and it will last you a long time in deed.
Ms. Susan Caulton
Feb 22, 2020
Pretty good stuff as far as I can see, used it the afternoon after the cabin went up, managed to get on two coats before the heavens opened. Will put on another coat or two before we paint it.....trouble is I can’t decide what colour. The rain hasn’t penetrated at all so must be good!
Mr. Alan Hampson
Feb 12, 2020
I was advised by the technical support of a rival company that wood preservative couldn’t be applied until April onwards when the weather is warmer. I came up with a solution of applying it in a spare room which was warmer, they agreed this was viable as long as I had fresh air flow. Whilst this was time consuming applying the Carefree treatment to each individual piece of timber it’ was worth it. It’s still winter time but rain just runs off the cabin, it’s a brilliant product. When the weather gets warmer I,ll apply the recommended number of coats. Whilst it’s not cheap, I advise anyone not to scrimp on quality
GLYN AUCOTT
Jan 29, 2020
Ordered the carefree product on recommendation from Tuin
The product is easy to apply and brings up a lovely colour to the wood, using the clear product.
Only time will tell how good the product is. It is obviously very expensive so my expectations are high!
Peter Snodgrass
Jan 23, 2020
Was impressed with product, compared to other paint products available in the UK. Although double the price of general coating systems it felt good value for money. In a couple of the cans the pigment had dropped out of suspension to the bottom of the can and required significant stirring to get it back into suspension - would recommend that as well as shaking all cans that stirring is essential to make sure all the pigment is in suspension prior coating. A primer system might improve the overall coating system. Time will tell.
paul watts
Jan 21, 2020
Used the clear version on a new stable (not Tuin) but 2 coats not enough - very weathered after 2 winters. Without pigment, the clear version needs the 4 plus coats recommended and arguably the wood needs to be less than perfectly sanded as this inhibits absorption. Currently painting a Tuin garage with the dark green - seems much tougher after 2 coats and a 3rd should be enough and looks good.
Paul Graham
Jan 20, 2020
I'm not sure how i feel about this treatment, I have given it 5 starts but it was bloomin expensive! I guess time will tell, I've nothing to compare against.

We've stuck 4 coats on the out side and 2 on the inside, we were told that we needed 9 cans but have actually only used 6. If you're watching the pennies then order less cans and see how far it goes and order again if required. I can't see you needing more than 6-7, we are now treating garden furniture, gates etc.

It goes on well, hopefully we wont need to touch the cabin again for a few years which will make it worth the while and investment.

The cabin stays relatively dry given the overhang of the roof. Where i can see the treatment works is on our garden furniture, the rain water just sits on the top of the furniture (rather than being absorbed)

The cabins are great value, so you may as well account for treating it properly too.
Ms. Suzanne J Calver
Jan 16, 2020
I did a lot of research on the clear varnish as it was very, very expensive but decided to use Carefree based on the fact that the drying time (15-20 minutes, depending on the weather) is far quicker than any other available products. In fact Sadolins (much cheaper) stated it was 18 to 20 hours drying time after one coat then you were recommended to lightly sand the surface before applying the next coat for the best effect. Well, this is all very but to apply 3 coats of varnish & sand in between each coat as well as contending with the English rain, this would take well over 3 weeks to varnish my cabin. Not an option when you are working, running a household & taxi-ing a child to all their activities. So, based on the time element I bought Carefree & am extremely pleased with the result. I would highly recommend it & it is well worth it's high price as it certainly does a good job & looks really classy. For those of you who have trouble working out the quantities they require, I bought 4 x 2.5L tins to cover a Daisy log Cabin 3.5m x 2.5m & after a very liberal first coat which used 1 tin & a quarter of the second one (the wood sucks up the first coat), I am now about to open my last tin with only the long back wall & front of the cabin to coat for it's third coat. This also includes that I have already painted the inside walls, ceiling & floor of the cabin. So, that should give you an idea of the area that Carefree covers & I would thoroughly recommend it to everyone for ease & quickness of use.
Trudy Green
Dec 31, 2019
Like most of the reviews I thought this was expensive but very glad I bought it. I painted the main body of my Riina Log Cabin concrete grey and the windows and doors white. I thought it was quite thin to begin with but once I gave it a good stir it did thicken slightly. I painted 3 coats of the grey and as the white is quite translucent used 6 coats to get a good coverage. As I have a lot of white left I’m going to paint in inside walls to give extra protection. I am really pleased with the result and can’t see it will need to be repainted for many years. Also excellent service from Tuin ordered on a Monday and arrived Tuesday morning.
Mrs. Elizabeth Lawton
Dec 21, 2019
Very easy to use. When we needed more it came 2 days later