Sophie Log Cabin 5.5m x 3.5m

 
10 Reviews  

5 stars
 
4 stars: 
 
3 stars: 
 
2 stars: 
 
1 stars: 
 




Reviews

Carol Mann
Aug 22, 2021
OMG are we thrilled with this cabin! We spent a long time researching and deliberating but eventually nailed it down to the Sophie. At one point there was a long delay but we decided to stick with it regardless. And then suddenly the delay was bought forward and the cabin arrived mid June. After weather hold ups we have now, at last, moved in. We have it as an office and spare room space and it is just brilliant!

Don't skimp on the quality and thickness of your insulation or the quality of your paint. We have done a 9 pillar concrete plinth base which has worked really well so highly recommend. Gives air flow and is cheaper than a full concrete base. We used 90mm floor insulation and 50mm on the roof.

We read and researched everything as we want this lovely cabin to last. And we are sure it will.

The biggest confusion was over the roof and insulation straight on the boards and then the shingles on top! Also it was difficult to get 70mm nails! 65mm fine. You'll know what I mean when you read the instructions!

We bought better window stays as the ones that come with it are a bit naff - but they also admit this. Deliberating about changing the door furniture as it's a bit flimsy too and the bolts are tough and not so easy to use.

We got professionals to sort the roof and the last 1/2 of the actual cabin build - so that the windows and doors would fit well and the roof would also be secure.

Anyway, once again, couldn't be more thrilled with this cabin.
sukhjinder chanian
Jul 19, 2021
Fabulous cabin
Mr. Ross Henderson
Feb 5, 2021
Thank you Tuin for our amazing log cabin. I built the cabin myself and took roughly 3 days to get it wind and water tight. No problems at all as instructions were very clear and easy to follow for a painter & Decorator
alan younghusband
Jan 22, 2021
Ordering straight forward. Communication good. delivery simple. Sophie cabin looks good quality. Roll on spring.
Terry Jones
Nov 29, 2020
Absolutely over the moon with this cabin, since taking delivery we have not needed to speak to Tuin as everything was in the package and fitted lovely, would highly recommend
Mr. Alex Punchard
Aug 27, 2020
Incredible quality and function for the price. I ordered this during the lockdown as I needed a project to keep busy. I had had great communication with Tuin from the order and it turned up promptly (2 weeks) as expected (I was amazed that Tuin were able to arrange this far quicker than other suppliers that I had contacted).

The build itself was very straight forward. I actually did it in my own (not easy with 6m pieces of timber!) and it went together very well, and assembled it fully within a day and a half. I opted to supply my own floor so ended up building a subframe from timber and then boarding over it (this took longer than it did to assemble the cabin!).

The shingles supplied have performed very well (no leaks anywhere) and I’ve had to do some adjustment to the doors due to the continuing temperature fluctuation at the moment. However overall I’m very impressed and it has been turned into a great little entertaining space with a bar. Highly recommended!
John Westwood
Jun 1, 2020
Got to say how impressed I am with not only the cabin (which is exceptional) but the whole professionalism this company has showed from start to finish.
S Bowers
May 26, 2020
So pleased with the Sophie cabin we bought, just like the peter cabin we purchased previously, the Sophie was easy to erect.
The delivery was on time even with the covid situation.
Day 1 was spent moving the cabin into the back garden ready for the build
Day 2 I had the cabin built up to the roof installation
Day 3 I fixed the roof timbers and insulated the roof with 50mm kingspan sheets.
Day 4 fitted the roof shingles
Day 5 fitted the electrics
Day 6 laid dpm sheet, added beams & 50mm insulation boards, placed 18mm osb board over the top then laid laminate flooring on top of that.
We used 4 coats of carefree protestant on the outside which goes on like a dream & each coat was dry in 20 minutes.
We made good use of the spare wood & the pallets that the cabin came on and made a bar out of this & some mdf.
A big thank you has to go to tuin for their exceptional customer service, I had a couple of minor issues & tuin dealt with these immediately. They were extremely quick in responding to emails.
So pleased we chose tuin for our cabins & I'm sure we'll get plenty of enjoyment out of them.
Andrew Morgan
May 21, 2020
Better than expected, went together really easily,even the kids helped,great new space.
Nicolas Shaw
Apr 2, 2020
My second cabin having moved house a year ago. Bigger garden now so ordered the Sophie at 5.5 m. Fork truck was able to drive up our narrow lane. Cabin went up in an afternoon, roof on day 2, just me working. Insulated floor and roof, no big issues, though shallow roof angle and shingles meant that 50mph winds blew off some edge shingles, so I added some clout nails along leading edge board. Very pleased with result.