The website uses cookies to allow us to better understand how the site is used. By continuing to use this site, you consent to this policy. Click to learn more.
 

Inglund Log Cabin 3.8x3.2m

 
10 Reviews  

5 stars
 
4 stars
 
3 stars: 
 
2 stars
 
1 stars: 
 




Reviews

Mr. Frank Poulter
Jul 15, 2020
I have just read a review from a Mr. Derek Thomas. It appears that I have the same problem, the door locking does not come even close to the holes on the striker plate, out by approx. 50mm. I have had extreme difficulty contacting Tuin, sometimes a week for an e mail response and no response to my numerous voice messages. On Sat 11th July my installer discovered the problem with the doors. I therefore mailed the out of hours mailbox, and included photographs. An employee called Philip responded very quickly. The conclusion was that he would forward my photographs and e mails to Tuins office on the morning of Mon 13th July. He said that someone from the office would contact me sometime during this week. Under the circumstances, I would have much preferred a Tuin after sales person to contact me today. I am also waiting for two new glass window panes that were broken during delivery. So, I find myself in a similar position as Mr. Thomas, a log cabin built but can't be locked and two broken window panes.
As yet, the after sales service is the only negative thing I can say about Tuin and that negativity is solely based on the extensive response times. it is so important during the build phase, if materials are broken or certain items delivered are wrong, Tuin need to make themselves available in a timely fashion. There is nothing more disconcerting than waiting to find out how the problems are to be solved or when replacements will be delivered
On a positive note, the quality of the material is superb. The out of hours service is brilliant. The delivery service excellent, delivered by a driver called Des. He certainly goes the extra mile, forgive the pun, he is one of the most helpful service providers I've had the pleasure of dealing with.
Even though the after sales need massive improvement, I would not hesitate to recommend Tuin as a supplier, probably one of the best purchases I have made. Even though the shingle roof needs to be completed and the flooring installed it looks absolutely amazing.
The rating so far I would consider to be a 4, it would have been a 5 if after sales was improved.
Derek Thomas
Jul 8, 2020
This is a mixed review. First of all, delivery was fine, quality of material is excellent, the instructions leave a lot to be desired and are quite vague at times. However, using common sense and logic and having an engineering background helps no end.
My issue: The pair of doors were not a match, with the hardware being at least 45mm out across both doors. I took pictures, forwarded them and Ben agreed that they were not compatible, ordered a new set from Holland, and advised it would be a few weeks. That was one month ago. How long does it take to get doors sent over.? Its frustrating when all correspondance is by e mail, and usually takes at least two days to get a reply. The latest e mail exchange just advised that they are still on order. Not that they are on there way, no date for delivery etc. I have a constructed cabin with doors that cannot lock which really makes the cabin not fit for purpose.
I would have thought that completing outstanding issues may have been a priority, but seemingly not. Hopefully the replacement doors may arrive in time for me to enjoy the cabin during the summer.
Tuin reply: Thank you for your review, we do apologise about your door furniture. New doors are on order with Holland and will be with us soon. Things are taking longer during to the pandemic.
Blair Fletcher
Jun 1, 2020
Everything went well from the ordering process through the delivery and unloading process to the construction of the cabin. The cabin is substantial, with 45mm logs and now that it's completed, looks very good in our garden. Living on the west coast of Scotland, we took the view that the standard canopy was too long and cut it back to about half it's design length. To our mind, the summerhouse now looks better balanced than the original design. We took longer to build it than was suggested by your various blogs/instructions, but that was perhaps because we carried out other work in conjunction with the build. There were a couple of glitches during the build , for example one of the roof purlins had been inaccurately milled at the joint with the gable and I had to recut the joint to allow a fit. Other than that, the build was generally straightforward. I think that the instructions would benefit from being read over by someone whose native language is English, and re-printed with slightly more detail and missing out the obvious translation errors. This doesn't seem like a huge task for a company which clearly sells a substantial number of log cabins. This small improvement would make a big difference to amateur builders like ourselves. Other than that, we are very pleased with the service offered by Tuin and the build quality of the cabin.
Richard Beard
Dec 6, 2019
Very pleased with our inglund cabin. This is the biggest construction project I've ever attempted & mostly went smoothly. Moving & assembling a (literal) tonne of wood is good exercise!
We've shortened the overhang, partly due to being up north occasionally facing 100mph winds, partly because we prefer the look.
Support from tuin has been brilliant, speedy & helpful responses & the blog info is great - definitely worth taking time to read it before assembly.
I would echo other comments about the window & door fascias, there are some fairly basic diagrams of various types of doors & windows. Would be better if the instruction was specific to the inglund in this respect.
Also a very minor thing, the 3d model pictures of the wall assemblies are generally helpful, but the back wall picture shows too many logs high - I thought there were bits missing!
Only problem now is getting a weather window to treat it all - not easy in northumberland in December.
We're looking forward to spending summer days sitting & admiring the view
Colin Grubb
May 7, 2019
After looking into several different companies we settled for Tuin I ordered the lnglund log cabin it was delivered exactly on time and placed on the drive as requested all the parts were marked for easy assembly, every thing fitted perfectly very happy with finished job
Mr A R Hailwood
Sep 26, 2018
Our delivery driver was very helpful in getting our cabin materials into quite a tight space - definitely not a 'kerbside delivery'
Once unpacked it was quite straight forward to sort out the parts we needed and follow the plan.
Despite poring rain, the build went smoothly, largely due to the precise machining of the logs - if you are forcing it, even with wet wood - you are probably doing it wrong. Very happy with the Tuin experience and would not hesitate to recommend them. The website is an extraordinarily dense source of information and advice. One minor point is that it would be useful to have a little more guidance on installing the door and window facias in the paper instructions. They can be tricky and the facia boards have to be cut to size so it is not immediately obvious where they go. The website is good but you don't want to keep firing up the laptop 'out in the field'
Mr. Stephen Heal
Nov 18, 2017
Service from Tuin has been excellent throughout the buying and building process. Delivery driver was able to manouvre his forklift to the rear of my property and place the package right where I asked. Unpacked and sorted logs, enabled build to go quickly and easily. Once the foundations were sorted the walls build quickly. Could do with some extra instruction about window and door assembly, has to be careful to select correct pieces of timber for them. Do not be tempted to whack down the gable ends, you could end up with problems of gaps in walls! I had to let them back up and then plane them off to suit. If insulating the roof you will need to buy wider timber for the bargeboards. Very pleased with the finished build, now I have to treat it!
Colin Turner
Jun 28, 2016
I'm really thrilled with my log cabin from tuin. It took me just over 2 days to build and fit the felt roof tiles which look amazing. The materials were of superb quality for the price and even a surplus of some items. I did run short of clout nails but being in the North of Scotland I thought I'd better secure the the tiles well! Delivery was on time and exactly as planned. I can't praise the company and product enough.
Brian Ford
Apr 24, 2016
Delighted with this summerhouse. My wife and I erected this in a weekend. Would highly recommend, have started using it already, great place to relax.
Steve
Jul 29, 2013
After looking around at garden centers and on line I came across Tuin at the time I had never heard of them but after looking at the brochure and other comments I rang them to see if I could add an extra double door to the Inglund log cabin which the answer was ok so I ordered the cabin and the extra doors came within the two weeks,two large pallets awaited to greet me once returned from work but being all components although quite a lot of items but none that heavy was quickly brought round to the back garden . It went up over the hottest weekend we have had for years the shingles on the roof was the hottest of all baking in the sun you couldn't kneel on them risk of scorching the old knees but now all up and looks great quality very good and strong look forward to making use in the Summer and autumn Thanks again