The website uses cookies to allow us to better understand how the site is used. By continuing to use this site, you consent to this policy. Click to learn more.
 

Dyre Log Cabin 4m x 3m

 
20 Reviews  

5 stars
 
4 stars
 
3 stars: 
 
2 stars: 
 
1 stars: 
 




Reviews

Mr. Martin Mellor
Oct 21, 2019
Dyre log Cabin

First of all I would like to say what a lovely cabin it is . We have had Cabin envy from our neighbours with many nice comments.

So what follows is a run down of how it went.

First of all we ordered a different log cabin to the one we ended up with as the first one was out of stock with no date of production.
We then picked the Dyre cabin and I must say I am pleased with it. The extra thickness in the wood was worth the extra I had to pay.
The only issue we had with delivery was trying to get a day when it could be delivered.
Having picked a week when we ordered you are then told the week before delivery what day it would be on this proved troublesome.
I know these come from Europe but it would be much better to be able to book a day.
However the day came for the delivery as promised the driver phoned a head of arrival.
We live on a narrow cul de sac and there is no way an articulated Lorry could get up our street .
There was no need to worry as the driver parked on a main road near by and fork trucked the package down our street lifting it over any cars in the way .
We unpacked all the bits and laid them out in size and type order as per the advice on the website. Don’t worry too much about identifying the bits. As you build the bits become easier to identify.
It took me a week to build the main cabin and have the roof on and door and window in.
I would urge anybody building one to read the instructions on the internet they do answer a lot of questions. Yes a had a few warped logs but with clamps and gentle persuasion (white rubber mallet) they do fit . As the instructions say make sure the base is level!
The second week I put the floor in and painted and varnished everything. We specified the heavy duty floor and I think it looks up to the job. It took 4 tins of the carefree protect product they recommend to do the whole cabin 3 coats outside and 2 coats inside.
This may appear to be a long time when others say it was up in 3 days etc. but I wanted to make sure that I had painted all the wood work and the underside of the floorboards as once down they would not get done again. As ever the devil’s in the detail .
When I was reading all the stuff on their website they said don’t worry you get some spare wood bits and bobs, screws, nails, roofing tiles and it’s true I have enough for another small project I want to do.
On the whole I had no issues with the build just take your time and you will be fine.
Now it is up we will see how it copes with the British weather ( and if my painting as covered all the wood!)

In summary
I would recommend the cabin, the wood protector, and specify the roof shingles with the shingle glue as the roof shingles look a lot nicer than roofing felt.
Stephen
Jul 16, 2019
I rate Tuin very highly in terms of communication and delivery. The Dyre log cabin is very good value for money, it’s solid and with 3 coats it should last 25 yrs. The free shingles are good quality, although the colour may vary slightly. I’ve taken off one star because I had a problem with the doors and the windows as neither had an expansion gap. After speaking with Tuin, the aperture size was right so I assume the window and door sizes have changed – I note that someone else had the same problem so hopefully this issue will be resolved for others. Because of this, I had to spend extra time dismantling sections and then taking an inch off each of the relevant logs before reassembling. In terms of build time, the easiest part of this is putting the log cabin together, two people in a few hrs from unpacking to completion (assuming you don't encounter the same problems with doors and window). Then putting on the roof and shingles takes longer. The base is the most important element, as Tuin stress, and this took me longer to prepare (Timber frame on screw in piles) and putting in the floor took longer. I should add that I insulated the roof and floor. I'm a novice DIYer and took my time over a number of weekends, took me a bit longer than I thought, but the end product is excellent. If you are building yourself, as an amateur DIYer, then the instructions are rather limited but the videos on the Tuin site contain all the information you need.
Mr. David Sturrock
Jun 9, 2019
Cabin was delivered on the date promised and put down where I asked the driver to place it. Cabin was easy to build after the first course of logs (these have to be screwed to the profiled foundation) after this was done it took 1 hour to complete the cabin just doing it myself. Do not be afraid to attempt this as it was simple when you follow the plans provided. Overall very good service by the Tuin team I would highly recommend them to friends Dave
Mr. stephen gutsell
Aug 26, 2018
I decided for the Dyre 4m x 3m log cabin after researching other producers and being convinced on quality, reliability and overall value. Having completed the build, I am not disappointed. I am an average DIYer, but found the build not difficult, after watching the Tuin 20 minute video and reading through the instruction plans a few times, both before and during build. I decided on a concrete base laid by a local builder, and this ensured all logs and roof fitted without problem. Only problem I had was the window aperture not large enough to fit the window as cutout in the upper log was not sufficient; easily remedied with a jigsaw though. I finished cabin off with 3 coats of Embradecor light oak, and clear over door and window, and am pleased with the look, set off with the roof shingles. I plan to use the clear inside also. I recommend the cabin wholeheartedly, will enjoy the cabin, especially having built it myself.
Gareth Day
Aug 15, 2018
Fantastic purchase. We ordered the Dyre 4x3 log cabin for our two daughters to use in the garden. Easy order online with an extensive choice of designs and sizes. Money not taken until delivery date given, bonus. Delivery was organised and the driver very helpful. The pallet was very well wrapped for protection. Quality of wood was excellent with only a few none perfect logs. Self build construction was easy. Free shingles included, again a massive bonus, finished the cabin off to a very high standard.
Would most definitely recommend.
My girls are extremely happy.
Thanks Tuin.
Dr. Paul Quilter
Aug 6, 2018
I am delighted with my purchase. Ordering was uncomplicated and delivery was, as promised, with a phone call about thirty minutes before arrival. The cabin was quite straight forward to erect. I am particularly pleased with the quality and design of the building. The timber is of excellent quality, beautifully finished and good to look at. I can thoroughly recommend Tuin as a provider of quality buildings. Thank you
Mr. Nigel Green
Jul 2, 2018
Great summerhouse easy to build looks really good would highly recommend
Tony Fitzpatrick
Jun 22, 2018
After much deliberation and research I decided to buy a log cabin from Tuin, mainly because of all the positive reviews. I wanted a cabin that I could use all year round so opted for the Dyer. The whole process from purchasing to delivery and building up went really well and I am very impressed with the quality of the cabin (solid and will last for many years) After sales support is excellent as I did have some questions that were promptly and efficiently dealt with. I finished off the cain with 3 coats of the recommended treatment (Embadecor -dark green) and the finish is superb. Expensive but well worth it. I can’t recommend Tuin highly enough. Perhaps the instructions that accompany the cabin could be better but there is more than enough back up and info on the Tuin website.
Mr. Ally Flett
Mar 19, 2018
Great service and product from Tuin. Ordering was simple, the price was very competitive and the delivery fantastic. I ordered the Dyre 4m x 3m for my wife to use as a beauty studio and we are both delighted with the end result. The assembled product is of good quality and is a great size for our purpose. It took a friend and myself one day to build and a further half day by myself to finish the roof shingles. The only issue we encountered on install was that the starter logs on each side were not included in the delivery. They were just normal tongue and groove complete logs. This caused a slight delay as we need to make an adjustment to the top log before the roof boards were installed. I would have rated five stars but I feel there really should have been some sort of door seal included. There is a gap for this in the door frame and this is essential to keep out the draft, especially up in Scotland. This needed to be added separately and although a fairly low cost to fix it is a frustration. These two points however cannot detract from the log cabin and we look forward to using it in the coming years. Many thanks Tuin.
Glen Thompson
Sep 5, 2017
We are delighted with the Log Cabin, it is stunning and an attractive addition to the garden. My husband really enjoyed putting it together with his father.
Mr. Michael Craig
Aug 31, 2017
I researched several companies for similar products and settled on Tuin because of a) past reviews and b) a transparent and professional website, and I am more than delighted with my choice.
Concerned that as an OAP the construction might be beyond my somewhat limited DIY capabilities, I managed to find all the information on the Tuin website needed to construct a timber frame base on sloping ground using pile foundations.
With the assistance of another OAP, and dodging the showers. we built the walls and roof within a couple of days but I ran into trouble with the shingles - I misunderstood the instructions and laid them vertically too close together, thus running out. The Tuin help staff responded magnificently; sending me an extra box at no cost!
I am delighted with the cabin and have no hesitation in 100% recommending it to anyone thinking of buying one.
Mrs. Janet Jackson
Aug 2, 2017
The product was excellent. My biggest complaint was with the actual instructions accompanying the house. I asked my son, who is a very competent DIYer and he had problems understanding the instructions and one case where no instructions were given he had to resort to searching Utube for a similar product.
Tuin reply: Thank you for your review, We are concerned to hear your comment regarding instructons as very comprehensive instruction that accompany your plans can be found here: https://www.tuin.co.uk/blog/tuin-tuindeco-log-cabins-instruction-manual/ along with numerous videos to clarify the points. These are also sent to you via email when the order is placed and also referenced on the pamphlet within the package if additional help is required.

We are very pleased to hear you find the product excellent. Thank you for your feedback.
Paul Squire
May 14, 2017
I bought a Dyre log cabin 4m x 3m. Everything was in the pack exactly as stated. We built in a day, it was very easy to assemble, just make sure your base is 100% flat or it becomes difficult.
Thomas Carmichael
Mar 20, 2017
Great product. Really easy to construct. All pieces were accurately cut and required no adjustment. I built this cabin in 1 day by myself. The roof shingles took another half day. i am extremely pleased with this cabin.
Mr. Daniel Tyson
Dec 16, 2016
To start with the delivery was on time the driver was really helpful nothing seemed to be to much trouble for him as with the difficult access. I had purchased a Rhein (special) log cabin we just love it, really really solid(40mm) it looks fantastic in our garden. If there is one thing I would have changed it would be to have paid to have it treated first, I decided to treat it all before assembly it took to long and was awkward with so many parts.I will finish off by saying the price I paid for the product I got I believe I was the winner. I have yet to fit the shingle roof ( this weekend) but I have no concerns about there quality either.I would and have endorsed his log cabin as I said we just love it.
Vincent Price
Nov 6, 2016
The service was fantastic. Precision timing on delivery. All parts arrived unblemished. Quality of product is second to none. All joints fitted perfectly. I assembled the whole cabin on my own (would have been easier with two people) and could have done the whole job in one day only for the poor weather. All instructions were spot on.
Only one minor gripe, the lack of response on the telephone when I was wanting to speak to someone before purchase. This was rectified immediately that I sent an email to the head office in Holland.After that I can;t fault Tuin at all.
Would I buy another cabin in future ? Absolutely.
The most important thing, without doubt, is the base preparation. It really must be 100% level. without exception.
Fantastic. Thanks. Vinny Price
Mr. William Tebay
Sep 23, 2016
Very pleased with my log cabin,the service received was excellent, delivered on time by a very amiable driver.
The assembly was simplicity itself,wise to follow the plan and instructions.Very impressed with the quality as were my friends who have since ordered their own cabin even larger than mine!!
Mr. Phil Burles
Sep 15, 2016
Arrived spot on time and with a very helpful driver. Including unpacking and sorting out it took approx 1 1/2 days to put up including the shingle roof. Very pleased with the product and service. Every piece fitted a treat and easy to follow (if slightly limited) instructions. Overall finish and quality is excellent. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for an affordable quality log cabin.
Mr. Stuart Skinner
Aug 10, 2015
I have been very impressed with the service from order right through to delivery. I had a couple of technical questions regarding the size of my concrete base and a DPC, and the team were very helpful. The log cabin was purchased partly to be used for storage, partly summer house and it seams very spacious in side. I was at first a little disappointed in the hight but this was more to do with my expectation rather than the product. I would say it is a very solid structure and relatively simple to install. I'm really pleased with my purchase.
Mr. Nicholas Fielding
Aug 6, 2015
Great product and very easy assembly. Only worked on this in the evenings after work and was up within the week to watertight. Couldn't recommend highly enough. When I had a question the team were really quick and helpful too.