Victoria Log Cabin Studio 4.1m x 3m

 
10 Reviews  

5 stars
 
4 stars: 
 
3 stars: 
 
2 stars: 
 
1 stars: 
 




You are viewing 5-stars reviews (see all reviews)

Reviews

Mr. Peter Hume
Jun 16, 2022
No use warbling on . I ordered my log cabin.It was delivered exactly when they said it would. Guy who delivered it was very helpful. All parts were there and undamaged . Quality was superb. Absolutely no complaints
Mr. Kevin Gough
Feb 28, 2022
What a great garden room this is.
The best advice I would give anybody considering a log cabin would be to read (and re-read) the free articles from Tuin, especially those regarding foundations, log expansion and treatments.
With this information the build went smoothly and was enjoyable.
There were some initial delays with the order but this was in the first lockdown when demand went through the roof!
Also, the roof covering had been left off the delivery, but this was supplied within a couple of days once the omission was reported.
We chose ground screws and composite 4 x 2s (supplied elsewhere) for the foundation ring beam (don't forget to check for underground services)
This took 3 of us a day but a fair part of that was doubling up the 4 x 2s to become 4 x 4s
The build of the cabin was completed in less than 2 days and most of that was single-handed.
We opted for EPDM as the roof covering and this took a further half-day for 2 of us, but was very satisfying to fit and will hopefully last much longer than the other offerings.
Some uPVC guttering from the local DIY store was fixed at the lower edge to complete the outside work
We created a suspended floor of composite 4 x 2s and 18mm plywood over a thick damp-proof membrane with 100mm Celotex as insulation.
All mains electrics were in uPVC conduit to allow for the movement in the logs.
We did replace the lock with a higher security Yale euro unit and one criticism would be that the door bolts for the second door are a bit below par - we wanted to swap these out but they are an unusually small size and there is not much timber to take bigger ones.
There were a couple of leaks around the opening windows when we had heavy downpours but these were solved with some clear silicone sealant.
Another criticism is that the windows were siliconed in from the factory (even though they say they are not) which means, if you want to finish the cabin in a dark colour you have to remove the glass to paint the inner edges of the beads and this is much more difficult when it has been siliconed in.
We are into our second spring with this cabin now and it still looks as good as the day it was finished.
Our intentions are to re-treat the outside every spring to make it last as long as we can.
We are over the moon with this log cabin and would recommend to anyone thinking about buying one, to go for it.
Mr. Andrew Payne
Nov 8, 2021
Great product, happy with quality etc
Delivery on time, etc
Billy Cheng
Sep 23, 2021
No issues with the cabin. There was a delay with delivery but they emailed to let me know this in advance. No complaints with this log cabin and it has made a great home office set up for me.
Andy Pask
Jul 6, 2021
As other reviewers have said, the Victoria is really well made and we are really pleased with our purchase. The instructions and blogs are really helpful and clear and if the weather had been kinder we would have completed construction in a weekend including insulating the roof and floor with 50mm insulation board. Only hiccup was the EPDM supplied was cut to the wrong size so I had to buy a replacement but all sorted eventually. You won’t regret buying this cabin, it looks great and is a really solid build.
Jon Noble
Jul 5, 2021
We ordered the Victoria Log Cabin and have not been disappointed. It is extremely well made and was really easy to put up (after reading the instructions and the pages of incredibly helpful information on the website). I would recommend this cabin and this company to everyone.
Alex Reilly
Jun 29, 2021
We build our cabin up to the roof in a single day, took the advice to add 70mm of insulation to the roof and 50mm to the floor. The additional insulation makes the cabin better at controlling temperatures during sunny days here in the west coat of Scotland.
The extra flooring was used to build a large corner seat storage unit, making the cabin a comfortable place to be.
Only complaints were the lack of glue for the rubber roof and the clarity of the instructions could have been better, causing a slight rework of the roof boards and change to fitting of the doors.
We now need to organise electrical power to extend the seasonal use of the cabin, but in June we can use it without lights to after 10pm. We timed our purchase well, noting the recent price increases.
Peter Shaw
Jun 7, 2021
Log cabin delivered and constructed Sept 2020.Build without the roof was completed in half a day with 3 men all normal diyers.Could not believe how easy logs slotted together and also their quality.Spent time giving three coats of wood preservative inside and out and also 3 coats of specialist paint,not cheap but well worth the effort.
Have had nothing but positive comments from friends over the quality and style.
Spent ages comparing similar products and must say nothing came close to Tuin,would highly recommend.
Mr. C Asghar-Stevens
Mar 4, 2021
This cabin is great quality and for the price is fantastic value. The logs are beautifully cut and everything has slotted together very nicely.
With one helper I assembled this (up to putting the roof planks) on in one weekend. Have not laid the EPDM or attached the fascias yet.
The only minor issue is the fascias are not made of very thick planks - looked a bit 'wobbly' when temporarily attaching to see where the roof planks end. Will look to strengthen these with some battens myself.
Otherwise this really is a fantastic product and would strongly recommend
Jim McLean
Nov 2, 2020
We ordered a Victoria cabin at the start of March. Despite the lock-down the cabin was delivered to us on the Black Isle in the Highlands at the start of April. Unfortunately we could not get the base completed until early June when restrictions were eased.
As per the excellent guides supplied by Tuin we had treated all windows and doors prior to construction started. The construction was very straightforward and completed by my son and I within two days. Laying the floorboards took me another day. The EPDM rubber roof was fairly straight forward, although I was probably used too much of the supplied adhesive and had to purchase some more locally.
The cabin is excellent with it's double glazing and 58mm walls. The support and guidance from Tuin was a great help.
We would recommend Tuin and the Victoria cabin to any potential new customers