The website uses cookies to allow us to better understand how the site is used. By continuing to use this site, you consent to this policy. Click to learn more.
 

Peggie Log Cabin 3.0 x 4.0m

 
10 Reviews  

5 stars
 
4 stars: 
 
3 stars: 
 
2 stars: 
 
1 stars: 
 




Reviews

Christopher Binge
Sep 13, 2019
I bought the Peggie Log Cabin.
Selected on line paid for online. Communications about delivery were great. Delivery driver was a real gent placed the pallet exactly and precisely where I asked for it. It was a tight access but he is skilled with his fork truck.
I had watched the construction videos on line a few times and read online Blog and tips and could remember most but I did have to run the video a few times during construction when I need reassurance that I was doing it correctly—the instructions with the kit are very basic but it is a pretty basic construction. For me the hardest part was getting the foundation beams set up correctly ie the beams are 3m long and my cabin is 4m a 3m ---two of the bottom logs are “halves” ie about 4inches deep and two of the bottom logs are full depth ie about 8inches---I needed to drill through the logs to be able to screw them to the foundation beams—drill bit length and screw length! Needed a quick trip to DIY shop to purchase a long 8mm wood drill and “long screws”.
After getting the base square and with damp proof strip under the foundation beam building the walls is simple and quick—a little gentle pulling and pushing with a few logs which had small bends worked well and its an easy plan to follow.
Window installation needed a bit of thought for which is the inside and outside and which it top and bottom……hinges go to outside!
Door threshold was the next puzzle and as I was putting in an insulated floor with 2 inch joists I needed the door to be as high as possible ---used wedges to keep it in place and then gently hammered a piece of tantalised 2” wood under the threshold and screwed it to the foundation. Doors fitted on hinges, lock fitted and handles ---little bit of moving of frame and then fixed with one screw each side.
Roof beams I fixed myself using a ladder at one end as my helper and lifted the other end into place.
Nailed the roof boards on-fitted the trims down the sides.
That was day one from 7.30am to 6.30 pm on my own. Spent the first hour moving the parts to the site and sorting. The foundation beams set up, mitering, squaring and fixing took about 2 hours but everything else went quickly and easily.
Shingles took about 2 hours – final trims another hour.

I have now insulated the floor and the roof with 50mm Celtex- put flooring in and plan to add “cushion floor” employed an electrician who has fitted power sockets and lights inside and outside.
First coat of Sandolin applied.
Really happy with my “Peggie” – I am in the process of building a 5m x3m deck outside overlooking my koi pond and then its just furniture to finish. It looks good, it feels solid and well built---I think its really good value for money.
Thank you Tuin
DAVID LEISHMAN
May 16, 2019
Brilliant cabin easy to put up, I managed to do it on my own in 2 days.
Delivery was quick and the driver placed it where it was needed!
Would recommend this product and company!
Mr. Roger Mihalop
Apr 24, 2019
The Peggie log cabin we have recently installed is absolutely excellent and is a head and shoulders above any other cabins on the market. I had previously purchased a competitor's log cabin which in comparison to the Tuin cabin was rubbish. It had to be dismantled and collected and I have now received my refund. In spite of being an interesting experience I would have preferred not to have had I must praise Amy Hague of the Waltons installation team who handled my complaint very well indeed. She deserves much praise for her interpersonal skills.

I have nothing but the highest praise for your recommended installer Kevin Binfield and his team who were thoroughly professional, cost effective and did an excellent job. I would recommend him to anyone requiring an installation service.

All in all well done Tuin!!

All in all it was a pleasant experience dealing with the Tuin team.

Mr. Anthony Green
Sep 24, 2018
I bought this cabin for my wife to house her ever increasing hobby. She is so pleased with her new cabin. The delivery was fast and everything went together so easily. It took me and a mate just a couple of days to put it together. Great product definitely recommend this company. Excellent value for money.
Cate McKee
Sep 11, 2018
We love our Tuin Cabin! The team were brilliant, and ensured our delivery date was the same even when our bank declined payment due to a fraud scare. It was so easy to put together with two of us, as none of the parts were too heavy to manage. Fitting in the extra door did require a little head-scratching as it wasn't the same as the one supplied, but thanks to all the fantastic information on the website we did it! It looks fantastic - now all our friends want one!
Mr. Richard Burn
Jul 6, 2018
Tuin Peggie Review

We have recently embarked on a garage conversion to add a little extra space to our house. Of course, this meant that I had the normal garage full of ‘useful stuff’ to store elsewhere. After scouring the internet for solutions, I found the Tuin site, with so much detailed advice, how-to’s and glowing customer reviews, I thought I’d give them a go.

The Peggie cabin was a great price and just the right size for a spare piece of ground currently used for growing potatoes! Next decision was how to make the base. I looked at using patio slabs, railway sleepers or a concrete pad. In the end, I decided on a concrete pad, which would be perfectly flat, robust and also keep my local rat population at bay (we have chickens… enough said?)

The ordering process was simplicity itself and the delivery date was confirmed. I had a restricted choice of roof shingles but that was fine as they were free! I plumped for the green rectangular type, which proved to be a good decision, they look great and were easy to fit.

The day of the delivery came and the driver turned up in a very large truck. The driver was a lovely chap; very friendly and polite but most importantly, he was able to use the amazing little all-wheel-steer forklift to position the very long pallet exactly where I needed it, despite the access being tight. There was no damage at all to the over-packing and everything looked fine. The driver went merrily on his way and I started hauling logs!

The built was really very simple; stack logs on top of each other until you run out of logs - then fit the roof, again very easy, as everything is numbered as per the plan. Although I intended to built the cabin myself, I managed to divert a couple of my builders from doing builder stuff in my garage to give me a hand with the longer logs. Having read the advice on the website about not using any nails or other forbidden fixings, I briefed the boys but when my back was turned I found a nail holding two logs together! I duly removed the offending nail and gave it back to a (sheepish) builder!

Fitting the double door turned out to be the trickiest part of the build. I put the frame together, glued and screwed and slid it into place. However, what I perhaps should have done was check that the doors were a good fit before glueing and screwing. When I fitted the doors I found that the catch would not operate as the doors had too large a gap between. It was at this point I discovered how fantastic Tuin customer support really is. I emailed at just before 6pm on Thursday evening to see if there was a solution to this issue… the reply came at 23.13 the same evening and gave a detailed explanation of what needed to be done with useful links to more pertinent information on the site. Now that’s what I call customer service! The solution was spot on and the doors are now a perfect fit.

All that remains is to treat the timber when I have time (I will do it soon…).

Overall my experience with Tuin has been outstanding, I can’t rate them highly enough. In fact my builder was so impressed, he is ordering a cabin to use as a bar in his garden (I obviously pay him too well!) I don’t usually write reviews but I have been genuinely impressed with all aspects of this experience and thought why not give a little credit where it’s due!
David Benfield
Jul 19, 2017
Great service from start to Finnish ,well pleased with product and after sales service.
Delivery was excellent after some concern of width of road.Would recommend Tuin
Miss. JULIE HUBBARD
May 8, 2017
Very happy with the product and service from Tuin.
The cabin I ordered was delivered promptly, very easy to assemble and very high quality. Within 6hours, the cabin was fully assembled and treated. I would defiantly recommend purchasing a cabin from Tuin.
Mr. richard trayler
May 2, 2017
I ordered the Peggie log cabin on 21st March and it was delivered on 31st March. I was seriously considering having it installed by someone they recommended as there was a lot of wood, but having read the instructions for installation online i thought I would give it a try myself. I started on good Friday and it was completed by Easter Sunday including 3 coats of their carefree protectant timber treatment. I am extremely impressed with the log cabin's thickness and quality and ease of installing, my only issue is they could make the instructions clearer and more detailed for people who are installing themselves. Overall I would definitely recommend this log cabin and company as the service in and out of hours of business is outstanding.
Joe pierce
Apr 16, 2017
The quality of the cabin was fantastic, I put these cabins up for a living and only use tuin now as a supplier, the quality is unbeatable