• free delivery*
  • Dutch / German Quality
  • out of hours fitting support
  • price match
01508 5583089am - 5pm Mon - Fri.
CLOSED WEEKENDS / BANKHOLIDAYS

Lennart Log Cabin 3 x 3m in 58mm logs - Double Glazed

 
(10 Reviews)  

5 stars
 9 review(s)
4 stars
 1 review(s)
3 stars: 
 0 review(s)
2 stars: 
 0 review(s)
1 stars: 
 0 review(s)




Reviews

Most useful first | Newest first  
10 results found
Show results 1 - 10
Richard Crane
Jan 2, 2018
We are very pleased with our Lennart Log Cabin. Delivery was exactly on time and erection was fairly straightforward, taking only one day. Insulating the floor and roof and installing felt tiles and floor panels took a further two days. No problems were encountered during the installation, so I had no need to contact Tuin Product Support.
Mr. thomas colligan
Oct 30, 2017
After checking out reviews for a few companies contacted Tuin very good response to my questions ordered the Lennart log cabin .delivery was arranged and the driver could not have been any more helpful in positioning package.started build of cabin and was surprised at how easy it was to build as all parts went together well.total time to build it myself was approx 12hrs with only needing a hand to fit window unit still have insulation and shingles to fit overall very pleased with cabin and would not hesitate in recommending the Tuin products
Kerr Gardiner
Oct 30, 2017
I did think of just writing something along the lines of 'very good', but then thought about the reviews and information I needed when I was looking to purchase and feel obliged to give a bit more.

Bottom line is; if you asked me if would I buy from Tuin again the answer would be not only yes but I wouldn't look elsewhere. Hopefully the following may be of use if you are looking for a cabin.

I recently started working from home and needed some dedicated space, house was too small so looked at garden sheds. Looked at buying ready made (too expensive, starting ~£7.5k), looking at build from scratch (around £2.5k, but too much work), and settled on kit form. In the end I spent around £3.5k; £2.5k for the cabin and £1k for electrics, data, and insulation.

I spent a long time researching the various kits and in the end the main reasons for choosing Tuin was information on the blog, the feedback dialogue which gave me the level of information I needed to feel reassured that this wasn't just a reseller, and the Lennart was the size and shape that I needed.

I was really concerned about delivery because we are not accessible for artics; but Tuin weren't fussed and the driver (Brian) was amazing. He stopped on the main road (which is narrow, has high hedges and no pavement) and unloaded and fork'd the load down the hill to the village and onto our driveway.

The rest of this piece is just me sharing my experience rather then review.
Get your base right and level - I had a pre-existing base which wasn't level and meant all sorts of shimmies under to make it level, that took the most time. Another downside was that when I set the floor I had to shimmy that too. Might have been easier to redo the base - isn't hindsight a great thing!

I bought the composite foundation and the floor - worth the extra money. I'm in Wales where we get a bit of rain and the base can sit in water a lot of the time - didn't want the rot. I also bought the floor as when I priced up the timber to do even with sheet materials the Tuin price was actually cheaper.

The basic build took a day (afternoon and morning) by myself. Some tips;
- Do lay out all the bits, makes it so much easier.
- Do read the blogs, lots of really useful information and good tips!
- Do take time over the first few layers
- Don't worry about the weather; I did a lot of it in torrential rain
- Taking the windows off the frame make it possible to lift the frame in by myself
- Insulating underfloor and on roof is fairly easy and makes a huge difference, especially if you are using it as office space.
- Fitting the doors is very fiddly; take your time and don't be tempted to get the plane out!
- Make sure you have all the bits on before doing the apex, it is quite tricky to take the apex back off!
- If you haven't used shingles before make sure you don't put them on too close to each other, luckily I had plenty spare!
- I put a layer of shelving round using left over planks and the Ikea wooden shelf brackets (£2 each, work brilliantly!)
- The Tuin air vents are great value for money - I couldn't find anything similar locally
- I planned out on paper where everything was going to go - this helped me choose the right cabin and meant that everything did fit!
- Do think about the electrics before moving in; it is a lot easier to run conduit and cable in an empty space!
- When running the electrics think about running ethernet as well; this ensures you have decent connectivity
- I used Carefree treatment; expensive but when paying £3.5k to build the thing... One tin did a full coat


Mr. Lee Barrett
Sep 26, 2017
Excellent product, excellent service, highly recommended. The cabin was delivered on the day as organised. Large lorry parked at the end of the road and a forklift carried the cabin up onto my drive. Cabin is precisely machined and all went together without any problems over a weekend. I'm having lots of positive comments from family and friends and I am extremely happy with the end result. Would highly recommend the product and the service.
Mr. Sean Paxton
Jun 2, 2017
The ordering process was straightforward. Delivery was at the agreed date/time, and was again straightforward. I didn't get to unpack for a week during which we had several days of torrential rain. When I unpacked, the contents were totally dry. Identifying the parts was easy. The logs had been machined to tight tolerances, and fit together very well indeed. The whole erection process was simple enough. One of the logs had taken a good bash prior to dispatch I suspect and one or two areas on the doors were a bit rough. I have the tools and skills to deal with these things myself so I made no attempt to contact Tuin, who I have no doubt would have addressed these issues promptly. It took me one day essentially working single-handedly to get the cabin erected and the roof covered in (self supplied) breather membrane. The second day was spent fitting shingles and installing facia and door/window furnature etc. The better-half spent both days sipping tea at a safe distance, occasionally shouting words of encouragement / ridicule.
If I am to be honest, the reason I chose Tuin was because of the time and effort someone has put into the blogs & videos covering foundations, erection, coatings, log expansion, electrics, roof-installation etc. They are obviously knowledgable and experienced and there was little evidence of 'hard-sell' which has me running for the hills without fail.
For those interested, the cabin sits on a concrete base I cast a couple of weekends beforehand. I spent time getting it absolutely true and level - only when you have built the cabin do you realise how fundamentally important that is.
I bought the 'carefree' coating which, like every other aspect of the cabin from the shingle quality to the timber surface finish, was excellent. I am 100% happy with my purchase.
Dr. Patrick Humphreys
Oct 30, 2016
An excellent cabin in all respects. The pack in which the cabin arrived was easy to unpack as specific parts were required for the build. The building instructions and diagrams which came with the kit were very clear, and were supplemented by the very informative videos on the Tuin website. I built the log cabin in a day with help from a friend, and along the way we became skilled in new building techniques and managed to avoid making construction mistakes. The wooden parts we very well machined and precision cut. They fitted together smoothly and tightly. The whole construction was very strong and stable with higt quality fittings to perfect the result. The finished log cabin looks beautiful inside and out. We fitted floor and roof insulation following the instructions on the Tuin website and the result is a warm and cosy cabin that is easily heated by a 1 kw electric radiator. I am very happy with the result, especially as it represents excellent value for money: easily outclassing more expensive similar log cabins from other manufacturers that I have inspected.
Ian mcwhinney
Oct 5, 2016
Excellent work for the tuin crew as usual the lennart is now being used as the islonia embassy in Scotland many thanks Ian Jess and family
Dr. David Coates
Jul 24, 2016
Where to start - fantastic support by Tuin both by email and on the website during the buying process and the build. The Lennart log cabin is a pleasure to assemble and when I met with any (not many) uncertainty, I just resorted to the various blogs, very well written (sometimes quite humorous) advise notes and very informative videos on the website. At the start of the build, my biggest dilemma was what to do for the base. I did not want a permanent concrete stand so I went for a ProBase system which I leveled on a bed of pea shingle and then filled the grid with pea shingle once the 3m by 3m base was level with the first few layers of the log cabin. The most important 'tools' have been a 1.8m spirit level and a rubber mallet! I am now at the stage of completing the roof, which I am insulating with 40mm Celotex and then I will move onto the floor with the same insulation. So far so good - a great, very enjoyable, experience!
Jackie Marchant
Jun 17, 2016
When I decided to get a garden room, I trawled the internet to see what was out there. I came across a company that seemed to have what I wanted and I got as far as adding it to the cart. However, I thought I'd just check out the reviews for the company and was quite horrified by some of the comments. Thank goodness I didn't complete the purchase! I then found Tuin and was extremely impressed by the comments so I went ahead with the purchase of the Lennart. The delivery driver was marvellous, and with the aid of his forklift laid the package on the front lawn. My husband then proceeded to build the cabin for me, having made sure that he watched all the videos and followed the instructions. He has done such an amazing job and I couldn't be more thrilled with what's now known as "The She Shed"! He's even sign written a plaque for me! The only small gripes I have are that the handles for the windows are not the best and that there was no handle for the extra window I ordered. However, I bought some good quality locking handles for around £18, so it was not a problem. The quality of the cabin is exceptional for the price and I would definitely recommend it to anyone. As my husband is a plumber with building and roofing experience, he had all the skills and tools to do everything to a really high standard and it does make me think that if you're going to build it yourself, it helps if you have both the skills and tools or get someone who does to build it for you.
Mr. Neil Patterson
May 13, 2016
Cabin was delivered on expected date with plenty of notice from the delivery driver. He was extremely helpful and proficient, excellent service. Building the cabin was a fantastic experience , some challenges but on the whole great fun and would recommend to self build. The end result is extremely satisfying. I now have a fantastic cabin sitting proudly in my garden. It is a fantastic chill out area which will be used for many years to come. Must also say the support service from Tuin was superb. The 58mm logs are substantial which gives the finished build the sturdy last for ever feeling we were looking for. Its no shed!!
Would, and already have recommended this cabin. Thank you Tuin ,


 
<