The website uses cookies to allow us to better understand how the site is used. By continuing to use this site, you consent to this policy. Click to learn more.
 

Embadecor Timber Stain

 
32 Reviews  

5 stars
 
4 stars
 
3 stars: 
 
2 stars: 
 
1 stars: 
 




Reviews

Mrs Joy H F Reed
Mar 11, 2019
Quite thin when applied but looks good in the silver grey needed several tins.bought the clearea for the internal of the cabin
Mr. David Coles
Jan 18, 2019
I purchased 5 cans of Rustic Oak Timber stain for my Daisy log cabin. I have used four cans to cover the outside 3 times and the inside twice. Although it is very expensive, I am pleased with the results. It is easy to apply and really shows off the grain.
Mr. Roy Creed
Dec 27, 2018
The Embadecor Timber Stain goes on easily and covers a large area. The colour was just what we expected.
Paul D
Dec 13, 2018
Great wood stain. Applied to Tuin cabin and went on well. 1 tin did one and a half coats on a 3 by 3.5m cabin.
Mr. Stanley Hilton
Oct 12, 2018
Very easy to use& has a distinctive odour, with each extra coat you see the build up of the protection. Log ends & joints soak up quite an amount & if proof is needed how it soaks into the wood we have a few places where the stain has come through to the inside of the summerhouse (mainly in knot areas). I will most likely use the Tuin paint for the inside of the doors & windows.
Marc Smith
Oct 7, 2018
I used the Embadecor clear stain on a Tuin log cabin. It's pretty easy to work with and goes on well. I can't really say what a coloured stain would look like and how even it would be but the clear one dried easily and once three or four coats were on I could see the rain falling off the wood.

It's a solvent based stain so make sure you've got the white spirit for brush cleaning afterwards.
Mrs. Sylvia Hempel
Sep 18, 2018
I bought the silver/grey , so far have completed 2coats and intend to do 4 on the cabin.
It seems ideal if you want the natural wood showing with a hint of colour, and of course the protection of the wood.
Noel Phillips
Aug 15, 2018
Used this before applying the blue Prussian Embalan paint. Difficult to apply as is clear and dries almost immediately so difficult to spot where hasn't been treated. Doesn't have the wow effect as the Embalan paint but its an undercoat so don't get too attached. Decided to go for the Embadecor and Embalan mix as although the carefree protect gets raving reviews, based on Richards experiments he claims that this mix is just as good, especially when there is £500 difference between the two... Word of caution, try and protect the windows, smudges and difficult to remove once splashed on them.
Mr. Martin Hall
Jun 4, 2018
I ordered the Embadecor timber stain from Tuin – this seemed extremely expensive but I felt their advice had been so good I would try it for the first coats. Although it seemed very thin it has covered very well and four small (2.5 ltr.) tins have covered the entire outside of the shed twice and the window and door frames inside as well; it also seems very weatherproof. I have also been very happy with the choice of colour – rustic oak – which has brought out the grain/knots attractively.
Jean L
May 26, 2018
Covers the wood well but does drip unless you take the excess off. Used about one and a half cans for the first
coat so was a bit worried that we would not have enough. Additional coats used three quarters of a can so all good. A bit pricy but very easy to apply and gives a nice finish so worth it.
John Cutler
May 21, 2018
We used they grey stain as a sealant and undercoat before applying the Prussian Blue Embalan timber paint as advised. This is quite thin and goes on easily with roller and brush in between logs. First coat soaked in well but could hardly tell it was there, second coat left quite a nice grey colour and we could still see all the grain of the wood; it was tempting to leave it like that but we carried on with 2 coats the Prussian Blue paint and are delighted with the results. The paint doesn't go quite as far as the manufacturers claim so make sure you order plenty. Although the minimum online order is 2 of anything I contacted Tuin and they were most helpful and able to make up an order with one extra pot of each. John
Paul Hagen
Apr 6, 2018
Quite expensive - I had to order some more. The theoretical coverage is nothing like, the end grain drinks it and by the time you've gone round the doors and all the trim parts its time to reorder.
Glad I bought this though I'm sure it'll protect the cabin well and its best not to skimp for the sake of a few quid. Nice colour too (Rustic Oak) - 3 coats recommended, its easy to do once the cabin has drank the first coat. Fantastic delivery time from Tuin too!
Mr. dean hancock
Mar 14, 2018
Great covering
Goes on really well
Looks amazing. I think you really need something on the wood if not just to reduce the glare!

Thanks
Alastair Cunningham
Mar 1, 2018
Now I spent ages looking at different treatments for the internals of my cabin-and I mean ages. There are so many products out there on the market, and unless you're in the trade it can be hard to establish whats good value and what is needed.I eventually plumped for the Embadecor stain and I'm really pleased that I did. I wanted to keep the cabin finish as "natural" as possible, and I was only looking to treat the wood rather than stain it. This stuff is great, as it highlights all of the knots and features in the wood so wonderfully. It's subtle, but that's exactly what I wanted. Initially I was using a 1" brush to apply, but then I opted for a 3" brush and applied lightly at a much faster speed without and dripping or runs etc. I've applied three coats to the inside which looks really good, safe in the knowledge that I purchased the right stuff. Don't be tempted by Cuprinol or similar, it's just not right for a timber cabin. It's not cheap, but worth every penny in my opinion.
Mr. Kenneth North
Feb 12, 2018
I bought this product to treat a Klass log cabin, it was very easy to use and has kept the natural colour of the spruce. Would recommend this product, it done exactly what we intended it to do.
Mr. barry pritchard
Dec 7, 2017
good stuff. they recomended it so i trusted their word.they know whats best so i went by what they suggested.
John B
Nov 13, 2017
I had the crazy idea of staining the office in Black and was going to do this until I tried the stain on one side of the tongue and groove floor pieces. The plan was to lay these face down to the insulation for extra moisture protection. The black stain unfortunately travelled through knots in the wood & showed on the untreated side so I had to paint both sides in the end. I didn't treat the walls at all in the Black after this fearing it may track through to the internal walls. The product looks great on my floor boards but I've not touched the walls with it. I've now got 5 2.5 litre cans of black to re-sell!
Tuin reply: Thank you for our review, we do recommend a knotting agent before applying a colour as you would with your house joinery to avoid bleed of any knots, this will normally stop any transfer of colour.

If you have unused tins you can return them for a full refund should you wish to.
Dr. Andrew Pinder
Oct 25, 2017
I chose to stain my Summertime cabin with light pine Embadecor. It was easy to apply and gave the building a lovely, warm glowing, golden yellow appearance. Weatherproofing so far appears to be very good too.
Richard Lyness
Oct 19, 2017
Excellent company to deal with from start to finish. Bought the Wigan cabin, over the moon with it. I did not receive the full amount of roof tiles, contacted the out of hours email and it was sent out the following day. The stain is top notch but you do need alot of it, it's top stuff tho. I used a dark chestnut for the exterior and rustic oak for interior. Looks excellent. Will be buying annually and staining to protect my investment. Only choose Tuin when buying your log cabin. I did my research and they are the best. Thanks guys. Mr R Lyness
Mr. William Mackay
Sep 9, 2017
Seems expensive, but very easy to use, great colour and when it rains you'll realise why you paid so much for it.
Mr. Derek Craigon
Sep 7, 2017
Stain went on well probably need to order more as it penetrates well.
Mr. Richard Laws
Jul 7, 2017
Easy to apply and spreads well. I bought 3 tins for a Daisy cabin and shed annexe and it was enough for two coats inside and out (with a bit left to spare)
Mr. david bullin
Jul 5, 2017
Applied this to the floor and walls of my Rome Log cabin. Goes on easily,a it was easy to wash out brushes afterwards. Make sure there is plenty of ventilation. Soon soaked in and left no marks. Great serice as usual from Tuin.
Mrs. Vivienne Clucas
Jun 2, 2017
Expensive but goes a very long way
Mr. Andrew Battye
Apr 18, 2017
Expensive but very good. I was worried that the 2 tins I bought would not be enough but this stuff covered really well. I would use this again.
Cathy Tate
Feb 3, 2017
Good product, nice colour, but be warned it didn't cover as big an area as I had hoped, so buy more rather than less per square metre
Mr. Steven Waller
Dec 30, 2016
Very easy to use and easy to get good coverage. Not the cheapest but if you want protection that Tuin believe to be the best, this is the product.
Mr Graeme Anderson
Aug 5, 2016
This stain is so easy to apply, and comes in a tin you can pour out. I would recommend this product. The cost appears a bit high for 2.5lts but it is worth it. Great product.
Mr. robert brine
Oct 11, 2015
this stain is a must, 2 tins done 2 coats it was easy to put on, had a bit left over put a coat on my wifes old rocking chair came up like new, 5 star
Mrs. Carol Davis
Jan 25, 2015
Good quality paint easy to apply.
covers well
Mr. Douglas Houston
Jun 26, 2014
Quality water based stain that covers well too.
Martin
Apr 19, 2014
Used this as an undercoat before painting, did the job well