• free delivery*
  • Dutch / German Quality
  • out of hours fitting support
  • price match
01508 5583089am - 5pm Mon - Fri.
CLOSED WEEKENDS / BANKHOLIDAYS

Blackpool Log Cabin 4.4 x 3.4m in 58mm logs and Double Glazed

 
(23 Reviews)  

5 stars
 21 review(s)
4 stars
 1 review(s)
3 stars
 1 review(s)
2 stars: 
 0 review(s)
1 stars: 
 0 review(s)




Reviews

Most useful first | Newest first  
23 results found
Show results 1 - 23
Mr. Brian Binns
Aug 27, 2016
Excellent product fantiastic forklift which got down my narrow drive with no problems assembled wih no problems but watch out for weird window handles they have a weird way of getting to the fixing screws, overall extremely pleased with the cabin and experience.
martin buckley
Aug 26, 2016
was just about to order a log cabin from a well known british company when the wife spotted tuin.
being a builder i could not belive the spec that was offered to me as standard(doubel glazed,real secure locks,tilt and turn windows,t/g roofing 58mm logs.
i was so glad that we went with tuin,the cabin went together effortlessly,the delivery driver was very helpful,and we are very pleased (so are grand children) with the cabin.i would not hesitate to recomend tuin to anyone wanting a log cabin,thank you tuin.
Carl
Aug 26, 2016
Went up well apart from some badly machined joints, timber twisted before it was machined !!!!? Your quality control is very poor.lucky to get 3 star
I wonder if this review will get on on your site mister 4 and 5 star blagger sort it out .before you give me any excuses....I trained as a cabinate maker ,time served bench joiner have done all aspects of carpentry and joinery. ...I know wood son.. apart from all this and finishing off your work which you were paid for !!?it did go up well and is a beautiful thing only time will tell how well it holds back the weather after alot of treatment and oil ,please have better quality control.
Mr. Alan Smith
May 22, 2016
Received delivery back in April, was more than a little concerned about a 40ft trucks navigation around the country lanes and low bridges to gain access to our property however he came via the country lanes and left by way of the low bridge, Trains continued to run after he went so we assumed he left the bridge intact
I proceeded to unpack and it rained. I decided to coat the whole pile with a preservative before erecting, and it rained, that took forever
I used 2.8 mtr concrete fencing gravel boards bedded in concrete for the periphery of the base which made getting a accurate and level base much easier filling the center in after the periphery was cured.
I had ordered hard wood profiled base timbers, these came in fabricated 3mtr lengths which bugged me a little as the cabin was 3.4 x 4.4mtrs so the jointing dented progress a little,building was simpleun till approaching the apexes when on the last layer I discovered a split timber I had put to one side early on intending to bury it down near the base however it is now an unfortunate feature high on the back wall. At this stage I had to call in assistance to lift on the apex and roof trusts the 73 year old muscles were somewhat over taxed but this was the only real assistance required to build the Blackpool log cabin apart from tuning the window frame the right way up when i realized the hinges were upside down (cataracts you know)
Insulated the roof with celotex and laid a tongue and groove floor (took nearly as long as the initial preservative but in the dry). Three coats of Kingfisher K-X10 inside and out, built a brick fire place installed the wood burner & telly.
I am now recuperating in an armchair in a very smart log cabin
Mr. Andrew Murphy
May 9, 2016
Superb customer service and excellent product, The cabin was delivered on time, no parts were damaged or missing, The instructions could be a bit better but overall a superb product.
Mr. Nigel Barton
May 2, 2016
Great company to deal with nothing to much trouble. Delivered on time and well manouvered!! The cabin was easy to assemble and of excellent quality.
Mr P Waterman
Apr 28, 2016
Review of Blackpool log cabin from Tuin – 28/4/16

We wanted a log cabin so that my wife had more space for her hobby of sewing and specifically making Quilts. So I started reviewing the various sources on the Internet.
After visiting many websites I was impressed by the amount of information available on the Tuin website, this all seemed very sensible and honest.
None of the standard log cabins were quite what we wanted so we looked at a bespoke one. The sales team at Tuin were very helpful, over a period of a few weeks we got a number of quotes as we chopped and changed what we wanted, but unfortunately at the end of it all we decided that the additional cost was not justified so we opted for the Blackpool.

The delivery was excellent with good communication on the day and the packing was secure with only 2 minor breaks in the outer plastic wrap.

My son in law and his wife helped us with the build. First job was to open the package and check all the parts against the packing note, we found a few differences and sent an e-mail to Tuin at 16:34 and received a reply at 16:48 explaining why there were differences and assuring us that if any parts were incorrect they would send them out straight away. We carried on with the build and at the end of the day we did have all the parts necessary to complete the log cabin.

I would advise that as you unpack the parts and check them against the packing note you also consider where the parts will go. The very nature of timber means it will have knots and other marks, also there will be splits (as explained by Richard on the Tuin website) or warpage, at the unpacking stage you can start to decide where in the build they will go i.e. out of sight or low down (the weight of the logs above will straighten any warpage).

Two short lengths of the wall timbers were also supplied for protecting the logs when banging them together with a rubber mallet (one for the centre of the log and one for the corners).
The build went very well especially considering this was Easter weekend and it rained for a few hours almost every day. The instructions provided with the log cabin were good and easy to follow, but as always instructions are never perfect for everybody, we had one question when fitting the doors and sent an e-mail 15:05 on Easter Sunday (fully expecting to not get a reply for a few days, but we could still carry on with the build) we got a reply from Richard 10 mins later!!!!!

Our son in law (who had erected four log cabins in the past) said that this was the best manufactured log cabin he had put together.

Now I am in the process of installing and insulated floor and false ceiling, plus getting a certified electrician to install a consumer unit, sockets and lighting.

When the weather stays dry for long enough I will treat the outside with Sadolin, I have already done the inside. This was an experience, it took far longer than I expected and also the treatment went on different to what I expected (only having treated fence panels etc before), I found that cutting in was far more important than even with normal decorating, though the inside treatment was clear it ‘stained’ any wood it touched and was still visible after being re-treated (luckily the wall I started on will be covered) I found I needed to rub any spillage off straight away. Also cracks and knots hold the treatment (though its fair to say that I may also have been a bit heavy handed to start with) so that after a few hours when I went back to check I found drips from them, but they had dried by then so I could not remove them easily. I would suggest keeping a good eye on what you have already treated so that you can clean up any drips before they dry out.

Overall we are very pleased that we went with Tuin and the experience has been good, we would and have recommended Tuin to friends and neighbours.
Mr. Craig Bulmer
Apr 3, 2016
A very good product, with extremely sturdy windows, which were far superior to rivals. Any problems were quickly resolved, an the communication with the company was excellent. Really good value for money, especially with offer price and free shingles
Mr. Allan Riseley
Feb 27, 2016
Very good level of contact from the Tuin sales people and accommodating with our delivery needs and constraints. The delivery arrived on the correct day and was off loaded with no trouble due to the drivers expertise even though our site is not an average destination.
The product was as I expected, all parts fitted together very well indeed, (we did self assembly), and now it's finished it looks just the job. If I needed a second cabin I would certainly buy this one again.
Andy & Helen Hofton
Feb 23, 2016
Before deciding on a Blackpool, we looked at half a dozen alternatives. We emailed Tuin with questions (some slightly crazy) and we got speedy and helpful replies. We also downloaded lots of practical material from the Tuin website, which we found very helpful. We were most impressed by the quick replies and the web material as most of the other suppliers were very pushy, but not very helpful. This was a big purchase for us, so we drove to Norwich to the Tuin offices. We had a warm reception and examined a similar cabin. Again we had some crazy questions, but Richard and his team gave us clear and straightforward answers. We decided there and then on the Blackpool and specified two extra windows. We also asked about lowering the windows by one ‘log’ and found this was straightfoward (but needs an extra log). We delayed delivery for a month until the end of January because we had to cast a concrete base.
After a lot of debate, we decided to employ Tuin-approved guys to put the cabin up – partly because we were worried about the weather and a slow rate of construction if it was DIY and partly because we were investing quite a lot of money and didn’t want to mess it up.
We contacted the two guys who were going to do the construction and received a list of things to buy in advance – screws, nails, insulation, boards for the floor etc. We spent some time shopping around for the best deals and made sure we had everything in good time. Not being expert, we contacted the construction people a couple of times for advice – they always seemed to get swift replies. It was a reminder that builders merchants have very different prices and different special offers, to chasing round did take some time.
The kit of parts arrived as arranged on a massive lorry which had a fork lift on the back. We were able to place the kit on the drive. It was wrapped in polythene, but we covered if with big plastic sheet from Wickes to keep it dry.
It was not really practical to check the kit of parts (not least because of the rain).
The weather in January was really bad and we were very worried about what would happen during construction. As luck would have it on the first day we had about 7 hours without rain. The two guys worked non-stop and by the end of the day most of the cabin was up. They cut the openings for the two extra windows and these fitted a treat. We checked the parts that were left and found we were missing a couple of bits of guttering and some adhesive, but a call to Tuin meant that these arrived next day. The cabin fitted the base (which I was concerned about) and seemed really solid. On the second day the weather was again marginal, but by the end of the day the job was done and the cabin was weatherproof (except it wasn’t painted.)
We were really pleased. We had some nails and screws and a bit of insulation over.
We would have struggled with the task and would have been concerned about cutting the openings for the windows ourselves.
We have found treating the wood to be quite a task (only because we are not used to hard work) and on reflection we should have obtained more professional advice.
It would have been fun to put the cabin together ourselves as a summer project, but we were glad we had employed professionals. It would have taken us a long time. We were really glad we had the extra windows and the slightly lower window position so we can see out while sitting on a chair. It makes the cabin light and bright – and we have a great view out of the rear window. I hope you can tell from the report that we were really, really pleased with Tuin and the quality of the people and the product !
david
Aug 8, 2015
Brilliant log cabin. Excellent quality wood. looks brilliant. great service from tuin.
Steve Brook
Jul 19, 2015
Very good quality cabin at a fair price. Exceptional support from Tuin UK when needed. Delivery was well planned and well executed. You will need one or two strong helpers but if base is level it goes up easily - watch out for: Get logs under/over windows and door right first time(!); Assembling doors for this cabin is a carpentry challenge but when done correctly they work well. Limited instruction in the pack means e-mails to Tuin unavoidable but instant answers on a Sunday. Take care on shingle placement - I was one pack short. A brilliant cabin, very happy with the result and with Tuin.
richard
Mar 6, 2015
Great cabin. I am very practical and a good carpenter but it is not as easy to erect this log cabin as they make it sound.
Good luck!!!!
Ian Watts
Jan 29, 2015
An excellent product which arrived last Wednesday and is already gracing my garden. The order process was straightforward wuth plenty of good communication and Marc, the delivery driver, did a great job of delivery what was a huge pallet, via our very narrow lane.
Michael Kearney
Jan 29, 2015
I bought this cabin after helping a friend with one he bought from Tuin. These are superb quality, even if you ignore the rediculously low price for what you are getting.
Some have criticised the instructions, but they are so easy to construct if you lay out all the logs by size first.
The team at Tuin are uber helpful and friendly. If you are looking for a cabin or any timber outbuilding, I would recommend these 100% every time.
karel kuhler
Dec 13, 2014
Order and delivery good.The quality of the cabin and price excellent. Plan for the assembly of the doors and frame difficult to work out.
Mr. Paul Johnston
Dec 3, 2014
Staff so helpful when ordering, and arranging delivery was so easy. Was worried the lorry would struggle to get to my house but the driver was great and managed to move the cabin with his forklift exactly where I wanted it. Now it's in my garage where I am appling the preservative before I hopefully have a dry day to build it. All the wood / doors windows top quality.
Jo Lloyd
Sep 10, 2014
4 stars for us. This is a great cabin and fantastic quality. The only down side are the instructions for erection. The team pre delivery are great and very helpful – even delivering to France. Delivery team great too. After sales is by way of email at the weekends and the replies are almost immediate so that’s great too. The erection instructions are very very basic and rely on you having some knowledge or previous experience. We learnt a great deal from Richard as we experienced problems – it would have be even better if this information and tips came before the problems arise. So overall great product and service.
Mr. Thomas Glyn
Jun 26, 2014
I am delighted with the quality of my log cabin, it is good value for money and Tuin customer services were excellent at all times. I would like to thank Karen and Richard in particular for dealing with my order professionally and with great efficiency at all times. I will recommend Tuin to my friends if they are looking to purchase this type of product. I would like to say that the instructions could be clearer but this is a minor issue as the log cabin build is almost self explanatory.

Best Regards

Tom
Mrs. Yui Clarke
Jun 17, 2014
For the money, the Blackpool Cabin seems unbeatable, especially with free roof tiles - 58mm logs, spruce (superior to the ubiquitous pine), double glazed, metal door trim, higher end windows. The floor is not included which prompted me to use the slab as a floor, as suggested on the web site. Great suggestion which had not occurred to me. Delivery was smooth though the actual day requested was conformed at very short notice. The driver used a forklift to leave it in the road which took only a few minutes. There is some cracking in the wood and bow in the beams. Once I put it together I’ll see how these issues work out. It is a shame it is 9cm above the legal limit in the UK when you erect it close to the neighbours border. I’ll have to sink it in the ground and arrange a French drain. Overall, great value and a nice design.
tom wagstaff
Jan 7, 2014
The Blackpool cabin is exceptionally high quality, finished to a really high standard and fitted together very quickly. I would recommend this cabin to anyone and am very happy with it for the price I paid. I had a few issues with the cabin whilst building it, but contacted Tuin who quickly responded and sorted the problems out without any fuss. i would recommend using them for both their quality of building materials and there response to help out with any issues i had.
John Mitchell
Aug 5, 2013
Excellent product, excellent service and very straightforward to erect. I really appreciated the telephone advice from Richard to build the base. Once we got that right, the cabin went up very quickly. The finished product is extremely impressive!
Lisa Cove
Apr 23, 2013
Delighted with this product and service. Very good value for money. Would like to buy another one!


 
<