• free delivery*
  • Dutch / German Quality
  • out of hours fitting support
  • price match
01508 5583089am - 5pm Mon - Fri.
CLOSED WEEKENDS / BANKHOLIDAYS

Edelweiss Log Cabin 5.1x6.0m

 
(8 Reviews)  

5 stars
 7 review(s)
4 stars
 1 review(s)
3 stars: 
 0 review(s)
2 stars: 
 0 review(s)
1 stars: 
 0 review(s)




Reviews

Most useful first | Newest first  
8 results found
Show results 1 - 8
Mr. Steve Musgrove
Jul 10, 2016
Order and delivery were timely with an excellent delivery driver. Cabin design has been thought through and makes for a very adaptable building.
Quality of timber and machining were excellent, having built a similar sized building a few years ago which was slightly more expensive, this building is very good value for money.Spend a little more and insulate under the floor and the roof, you will have a truly wonderful all year building.
Elliot Robbins
Nov 8, 2015
After the initial shock of seeing just how much wood there was, I was very pleased at how quickly and easily it all went up. About a dozen pieces in total had to be cut as they were too long and one of the windows wouldn't have fitted, but apart from that I was well impressed. The space is great and we're getting the last bits done by an electrician so that my wife can use it for her beauty therapy and the children have taken the mezzanine as their den. I was very impressed at the quality of materials provided although the windows and doors didn't fit in the same way as thought after watching the videos. Once I worked out how they went, it was so easy that my helper was my 11 year old daughter who had a part in fitting all the windows and I even found that the door fitting was easy enough for just myself to do. I would thoroughly recommend tuin products and it will be my first thought for anymore garden improvements. Delivery was second to none with updates and genuinely accurate timings. The driver was also a great help with positioning the pallets. Thank you Tuin and did I mention how easily it went up?
Mrs. Ellen Colville
Oct 24, 2015
6 weeks later, working with just two of us part time into the Highland autumn, our Edelweisse cabin is almost complete.
The basic structure goes together well. We built it 'mirror image' of the standard arrangement so the small rooms are to the right of the main door. There were no real issues with this, except understanding the consequences of other door arcs due to the pre- assembled door frames.
We were a bit disappointed that - (1) contrary to some descriptions of the product on this website- there are finger joints in many of the longer outside timbers, even within main structural ones. (2) Although the correct number of parts were there, there were 3 extra part 006 one extra 030 and 4 too few 003. We did some cutting and gluing on of spare sections to make extra 003's ..this small repair now completely hidden behind that 003 window reveal.
We put 75mm floor insulation within the heavy support frame on which the building stands. We also framed 100mm insulation under extra plywood on the felt tiled roof, and made special arrangements for internal electrical wiring. A lot of extra work, but worthwhile for year-round use in the highlands. Kingfisher wood preservatives were applied to all surfaces, and now we have a colour coat to complete. We have a fine solid building.
If we have any advice it is only to remind anyone attempting this Edelweisse build: getting the pre-machined wall beams slotted together is so quick and satisfying ( !) it is easy to lose sight of the actual time demanded for a full high standard build. For us with our extra insulation requirement, the build time has probably accounted for at least 300 man hours.
Miss. Ruth Elliott
Oct 6, 2014
I shopped around to find the ideal cabin for me and I am so glad that I decided on the Edelweiss from Tuin. It has excellent build quality and it surpassed my expectations on all fronts. We decided to build it ourselves and although the instructions were a little daunting initially, I cannot fault the telephone support I received. Thank you Wayne!!
Alison Round
Sep 20, 2014
First class service from Tuin, Karen has always been so helpful and friendly. The installers were very efficient and professional. The quality of the cabin is outstanding, thoroughly well made and thought out to every little detail. Everyone who's seen it wants one now! 10/10
Steve Teague
May 3, 2014
When I started looking at Lob Cabins my first instinct was to look at all the Internet web sites and try to find an obvious "Best Deal". Very quickly it became clear that this was a competitive area and loads of companies were offering what seemed similar cabins at temptingly cheap prices.
The site that brought it all together for me was Tuins excellent Blog where Richard explains in simple terms the ins/outs of log cabins and the differences between them. This was a huge eye opener and gave me the info I needed to pick what was right for me ie a solid well made cabin at a price I could justify. I chose the Edelweiss.
That for me was the difficult bit over - finding a supplier I could trust. Everything else just flowed smoothly, good communication, advice on foundations and quick delivery. Tuin even found me someone to install the cabin after gently explaining that it might be a it bit much to install such a big cabin on my own!
A month or so the cabin looks superb with it's decking (I built) and sits beautifully in the garden surrounded by spring flowers.
I can wholeheartedly recommend Tuin as an excellent company to do business with. Other companies may supply products that look cheaper but from my research they are not a patch on Tuins range.
I have now just ordered a second (much smaller) cabin from them which I will install myself. Watch this space!
Carmel Sayers
Jan 23, 2014
I am delighted with my new log cabin. The quality is superb, and Wayne and Mark who erected it worked really hard.

The company have been straight forward and helpful. They kept us informed throughout the ordering and delivery process.
I have now ordered another cabin, and I would recommend this company to anyone.
helen cunningham
Aug 9, 2013
Our Edelweiss log cabin is now installed and the service we have had throughout the whole process has been excellent. I emailed many times with questions about the cabin and always got a prompt reply with lots of information to answer my queries. The cabin arrived and although the access was difficult the driver was fantastic at getting the pallets where we wanted them. We used installers recommended to us by Tuin and they were fantastic too. We love the cabin, very well constructed with loads of space at a great price and will certainly recommend this company to others. Thank You!


 
<