• free delivery*
  • Dutch / German Quality
  • out of hours fitting support
  • price match
01508 5583089am - 5pm Mon - Fri.
CLOSED WEEKENDS / BANKHOLIDAYS

Sten Log Cabin 3x2m

 
(10 Reviews)  

5 stars
 10 review(s)
4 stars: 
 0 review(s)
3 stars: 
 0 review(s)
2 stars: 
 0 review(s)
1 stars: 
 0 review(s)




Reviews

Most useful first | Newest first  
10 results found
Show results 1 - 10
Mal
Nov 10, 2017
I was originally looking for a 10x6 shed but then I came across the Tuin website and it didn’t take me too long to convince my wife to spend about 15% extra to get the Sten Log Cabin. For that 15% extra, compared to a traditional type shed you get approximately a 100% uplift in quality!

From point of order to delivery it was all simple. A couple of automated e-mails and a phone call about delivery was about all there was to it.

Delivery was on time almost to the minute (18:00) which was great. We live in small dead end lane but the driver had great skills and an amazing forklift and the cabin was delivered successfully.

Everything comes in a flat pack type style. It probably took me a good couple of hours to move everything round to the back of the house and also sort it all out. All of the pieces are packed for space saving efficiency as opposed to being grouped together. I would advise sorting them into groups. I didn’t immediately find the instructions but they were there in the middle of the pieces of wood so don’t panic if you can’t find them straight away!

The following morning I built the cabin. On my own it took me the best part of the day. The following day, I put the roof shingles on which took more than a morning but less than a day. If you like lego, you’ll love this!

I’m super happy with the finished product. The quality is great and I can tell it’s going to last.
Janet
Aug 21, 2017
After much searching for a suitable building to put husband's model railway in, we chose the Sten 28. We booked the week for delivery and he spent the time dismantling the old shed. He also agonised over whether to put it up himself (I am disabled so cannot help) or get a firm to do it from the list provided. After much thought, and looking at the videos and instructions on line, we decided that he could do it...and he is NOT a dedicated DIYer..just a middle aged man with a few tools. The day arrived for the delivery, by a lovely Dutch guy, and the most enormous lorry which entertained the neighbours! He placed the delivery on our drive and we started the following day. It took a couple of hours for husband to unwrap, and take round the house to the garden, the large number of pieces. We then spent quite a while identifying which bit was which. Unfortunately one large roof wall timber was broken, so I emailed Tuin, and got a reply that one would be sent out either that day or the next. He started work. It was actually quite easy to assemble, although if it had been any larger, another person would have been a good idea as the logs would have been very heavy. It didn't seem right to not nail anything together...but he followed the instructions and it slotted together. The part took 48 hours to arrive (he was stuck at this point as he couldn't go any further without it..and ..it was the wrong bit...the right part, but from a different cabin which was much wider so wouldn't fit. Cue another email, and apologies plus a promise that the new bit would be on the over night courier...which it was. Mistakes can be made, but it is how a company resolves them that is important, and I cannot fault their customer service in any way. The instructions were sometimes a little confusing and I had to email them about the door frame not fitting over the upstand of the foundation beam...the instruction to remove this bit if necessary is not in the door instructions themselves....perhaps this should be made clearer as I have seen another review today that comments on this? Anyway, he had help with putting the roofboards up...that made it easier and quicker, and then he did the shingles himself. He was concerned about getting on the roof, but watched the video again where your fitters sit on it. Anyway, apart from putting on the treatment that we bought from you, it is about done...and ...it is wonderful! We have had compliments from both neighbours and friends on its looks and quality of the materials...the window especially. So, we would definitely recommend Tuin, and we would buy from them again. It is possible for one person without much DIY experience to do this particular cabin, and for it to look good! I can only say what others say...follow the instructions to the letter, if you have any problems then email them and they will get back to you as soon as they can, and look at the videos.
Mr. Mark Cawley
Feb 17, 2017
I chose Tuin as I had read some bad reviews about another supplier and reviews on Tuin were good. I was not disappointed. Delivery was as told. The cabin is great. Support was great. I didn't build it but the chap that did was very impressed and said it was the best he had seen.
Mr. adrian evans
Feb 13, 2017
Very pleased with my Sten Cabin everything was delivered as promised and there were no shortages all in all a positive experience and I would certainly recommend Tuin to my friends and relatives 10/10
Mr. Darren Harper
Nov 14, 2016
Fantastic Log Cabin - easy to put together with only basic tools and skill. Looking forward to using it initially as a Santa's Grotto for the kids and then as a Craft room for the family.
Mike Jackson
Jul 17, 2016
Excellent service, everything arrived just as the website described. All pieces of the cabin where clearly labeled, instructions easy to follow. Order together really well. Measurements and dimension where accurate. The stem cabin is now painted and looks superb. Took me only one weeked to put together with some help from my daughter including the first coat of preservative.

Jonny Wiltshire
May 11, 2016
I was originally looking for a 10x6ish shed to use for wood turning as my wife wouldn't let me use our conservatory strangely enough. When I found the Sten log cabin and read through the reviews and blog it looked like a 30% increase in price compared to a shed for 100 times the quality - and I was right. Service was as expected from the other reviews - excellent. In hindsight I would have told the delivery lorry to come a different route to our house - its HUGE !. Bearing in mind woodworking is going to be a new hobby, I wasn't overly concerned about the construction and the videos on the website helped enormously and it was fairly straight forward. Admittedly it took longer than anticipated but that's because I was still aching from the weekend before building the concrete base, which incidentally was the only option as I have a really wet garden due to poor drainage. Its something to be proud of in the garden rather than a shed which would look awful in a couple of years. Friends and family have all commented how nice it looks, I wonder if Tuin do a referral bonus scheme ?! I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the company and the product. Theres a lot of wood left over from the packing which I'll be using to make shelves or whatever. We had fun working out what the slotted planks are for too - shelf fitting. The only minor negative point was the generic instructions which aren't specific to the actual cabin ordered but there are loads of diagrams to compensate for that. I would also suggest they add better instructions or tips on fitting the door hinges (with the door in place!) since I hadn't seen those fittings before and I was being a bit blonde by then.
Mr. john kerr
Feb 3, 2016
Quality was very good,construction was relatively straightforward,and the finish overall was excellent.Had to trim a couple of boards to fit,but otherwise very pleased with the cabin.
Mr. Ed Stacey
Nov 25, 2015
Buying and building this cabin was a good experience from start to finish. The site where I built it was very tight, so the dimensions had to be spot on - and they were. Delivery was as promised within a week of placing the order. I took great notice of the video 'how to build' instructions, and the build was not only straightforward, but I thoroughly enjoyed doing it! If you played with Lego (or Meccano in my case) as a child, you will have no problems self building these cabins. A one person job in terms of weight and handling plus a few moments 'holding one end' from my wife to fix the 3 metre long facia boards and roof rafters. I preserved/stained each log as it was built, which seems sensible to me, and that was the only departure I made from the instructions. Excellent quality -and a very attractive end result. Absolutely no reservations in recommending Tuin and this product.
Mr. Michael Wilson
Sep 14, 2014
Sten 3x2m - Review Part 1.
This is my initial review having just taken delivery of the above cabin.
We were contacted in advance and advised of the delivery date but also given the opportunity to select days that would be suitable for us.
The cabin arrive on the programmed day and was dropped off in the requested location with out fuss. Living in a cul de sac the package was transported to the house on the fork lift truck the delivery lorry was unseen.
The package consisted of the cabin weather proofed in plastic and securely strapped to a pallet. The floor boards and bearers were also strapped together but a separate entity. The roof shingles were loose on top of the package.
The main cabin packaging was intact and I would have been happy to leave it out side safe in the knowledge it would be well protected from the weather but because of the location it had to be moved.
The following weekend we set about moving the main cabin into the garage where I intent to apply a protective finish prior to erection. The timber elements were very securely strapped to a pallet with metal bands. Having removed the protective plastic the cabin was revealed.
Two of us moved the various components to the new location which gave the opportunity to become familiar with the different parts and do an initial sort into back front roof etc. I am a keen wood worker and was very happy with the quality of the wood noting the lack of sticky resin and the dryness and general finish. Important to note that the window and door was shipped glazed and arrive in one piece undamaged which is a reflection of the good packaging and handling considering its long journey. With all the parts checked and accounted for I can say I am very impressed with the quality. The window unit is robust and the fitted hinges and catch work perfectly. Like wise the door and lift off hinges are also well constructed. Worth a note here most parts are screwed and not nailed to the door / window units. The roof shingles require careful handling and storage. Over all I am very happy with the product and would describe it as recommended. I look forward to erecting it in the near future when I will write part 2 of this review with photos.
Mike.


 
<