The website uses cookies to allow us to better understand how the site is used. By continuing to use this site, you consent to this policy. Click to learn more.
 
Home Reviews

Reviews

Additional Customer Detailed / Picture reviews as well as Independent reviews can be seen here: Tuin Detailed Reviews

5 stars
 
4 stars
 
3 stars
 
2 stars: 
 
1 stars
 

CG :  Roofing Felt:
May 6, 2019
Happy with the cabin itself, and aware that Tuin don't recommend felt but a couple of comments on this one

1: Roofing felt is never very nice to work with, and tears easily, but this stuff seems more tear-prone than average

2: given how strongly Tuin recommend their premium roof membranes/EDPM/Easy-roof over this felt, if its a near-required upgrade then the sticker-price of the cabins is almost misleading...

3: on the positive side, Tuin are very generous with the clouts (felt nails) provided with the felt so you will not run out!
Mr. David Clarkson :  Felt Shingle Glue 310ml:
Feb 2, 2018
Not great to use in cold weather. It tended to be hard to apply from the gun and did not stick very well unless repeated pressure applied to the tiles which had been glued. I found a less viscous roofers glue at our local builders merchant which was easier to use and stuck the tiles quickly and more effectively
mark Tovey :  Britt Log Cabin 3x2.5m:
Nov 29, 2017
after much research decided to buy from tuin due to reviews of excellent service and products.
I am afraid that I am very disappointed in both aspects.

I have built a number of log cabins in the past, I am not a novice. This was the worst ever to construct.
I had numerous warped logs, and I dont just mean bowed, these were banana shaped along the groove side. Almost impossible to fit.Even the tanalised bearers that the " shed" (and thats its best description) fits on were warped.
I had trouble getting the gables to fit so that I could get the roof fitted. Tried to ring, no one available , tried again, all on site, told to email and wait for a reply. In the end had to bodge it all.
when I did eventally get an email answer , it was no help at all. It left me frustrated - why oh why couldnt I have spoken to someone?
Door frame doesnt come assembled on this model, that was ok, but what I didnt realise was that the frame was also warped, so when I came to fit the doors later , massive gaps. But cant take the door frame out now.

When I complained , I entered into a long email debate. I asked to speak to someone on the phone, so rather than the original person (who I believe was the boss) that I was speaking to, I get a call from someone completely new that has no idea of what my issues were. To his credit he was probably the most helpful person I spoke to. The solution to to the door, well they sent me some sticky draught excluder and another bit of wood. Yet another bodge.

Maybe I just got a bad "shed" . I am sure all the other reviews arent wrong.

My advice. Check absolutely everything first.
dont just allow a day for construction, because if there are any issues you wont get them resolved right away.


Dont get involved in lengthy email debates, they will drive you mad.Make sure you speak to someone. Dont buy a "shed" that doesnt have the door frame and door already assembled.It will save you a great deal of hassle and disappointment

Do I think the "shed" was good value ? NO
Is it any better than competitors, I doubt it, but then again its probably no worse.
Would I buy again from Tuin? The Jury is still out on that one.

summary - warped logs (plenty of them) warped door frame - rubbish finish on doors as well. Door hinge security poor (screws outside) Poor communication - email complaints only. Reluctance to discuss things on phone. Delivered on time, nice driver, very nice final after sales guy.

hey Ho , lifes full of surprises
Tuin reply: Thank you for your review, I'm very sorry to hear you have had some problems, I will ask head of service to call you and run through these issues.
Carla-Marie Moore :  Wooden Pergola 3x3m:
Aug 8, 2017
Delivery was fast and the customer service was good.
Sadly the item is not good quality. The wood is twisted and warped. The screws provided are not appropriate for the job. Not worth the money.
Aug 7, 2017
These are not a very well specified product.
The material is flexible and will not fit tightly or entirely flush with the end of the boards.
To get an acceptable fit entails removing all of the moulding flash and using a suitable waterproof adhesive, holding them in place with tape whilst the adhesive sets. I used a strong PU adhesive as used in the automotive industry.
I would not purchase these again.
Shaun Packham :  Metal Shed 3 - 2.47 x 1.94m:
Jul 14, 2017
A nightmare to put together - very fiddly, holes do not line up and very sharp edges but there's no way you can wear gloves. There is no floor supplied so a couple of sheets of decent ply will add £80 to the cost. What are called foundation bars are not a foundation and you will need a perfectly level concrete base to put the shed on. Do not attempt it on earth or sand.
Once put together, after much cursing by two skilled shed builders, the shed is solid and I guess good value. But I will not be recommending it and will refuse to put another one up if asked.
Tuin reply: Thank you for your review, all metal sheds can be a awkward to install. Please see this article we wrote regarding this so customer's are aware of any metal shed before purchase: https://www.tuin.co.uk/blog/metal-shed-advice-and-fitting/
Dave Woodhouse :  Flat Roof Drainage Outlet:
Jun 8, 2017
Purchased this for a Barbara Gazebo. Whilst the product was fine and undamaged, application to a gazebo with a dished roof and only 100mm overhang is very tricky. I had to cut away a fair bit of the dishing to make space for the outlet.
It hasnt leaked at the moment but I have to say that I dont trust the seals.
Personally, I think you would be better off leaving an overhang at the back and installing guttering.
Mrs. Gillian Pyper :  Wooden Pergola 3x3m:
May 26, 2017
Canopy should have extra velcro strips to ensure a better fit. Collects rain and is very noisy when windy. This small adjustment to the design could make it 5 stars. Would not recommend this product for this reason.
Laura Walters :  Hexagonal Sandpit with Wooden Lid:
Apr 27, 2017
Really disappointed with our purchase. The sides didn't fit together properly and required a fair amount of purusation with a large hammer to connect. The lid is appalling quality and fell apart with first use. Overall I would definitely not recommend this product, terrible quality and waste of money.
Paul Yorke :  Post Holder Screw Down:
Apr 6, 2017
I bought this post holder the day after the Christoffer kit arrived as I could see no obvious way to secure the base of the corner post and I didn't want to be held up during assembly waiting for something to secure the post. Later I discovered that there is a post support/adjuster plate etc so this purchase was unnecessary. I explained in detail to your order handler what this purchase was for and we discussed the required size at some length. A better informed assistant could have advised me that the post holder wasn't necessary as the kit includes a fixing. Still, it is what it is. It's a beautiful post holder but completely inappropriate for the task and unnecessary anyway. If it didn't cost so much in postage I'd have returned it for a refund. This was the only small black cloud on an otherwise excellent purchasing experience as I am very pleased with the Christoffer summer house now it's finished.
Steve :  Roofing Felt:
Mar 28, 2017
Cabin is and has been great, proppa chuffed with the build and the quality but the roofing felt supplied very poor. Leaked badly, replaced with different brand and hasnt been an issue thus far
Mr. Emil R Martinov :  Storm Kit for Log Cabins:
Jan 16, 2017
Supplied with wrong size bolts . Thread on the long bolts wasn't enough so you can't tighten the L cleats up on my 34mm logs and the short bolts were too short . I had to get 4 mm bolts from else where
Mr. david noakes :  Aiste Log Cabin 5 x 3m:
Oct 15, 2016
Firstly there are a number of damaged timbers on the pallet that arrived, one of which is critical to the build and will have to be replaced. Secondly I ordered and paid extra for floor timbers (joists for the floor boards) and these have not been supplied. At this time I am quite disappointed with the quality of the cabin.
Ms. Lynn Harris :  Carefree Protectant Timber Treatment:
Aug 3, 2016
Disappointed with this product. We were originally going to paint the cabin with Carefree Protection Timber Treatment in clear but decided that we would prefer something darker. We decided to use the treatment on the floor inside the cabin as recommended on the website. We applied 2 thin coats and the floor is still sticky to walk on 2 weeks later. Hope that eventually the stickiness will go. Not sure what to do if it doesn't.
Tuin reply: Thank you for your review.

We do not 'recommend' carefree on the floor of your log cabin. BUT, we have used it with great success on decking but you must allow time for each coat to dry before reapplication. This treatment can feel sticky due to it's ability to expand and contract with the wood.

For a log cabin floor we only recommend a suitable floor varnish or treatment as you would use in a house environment.
Mr. Chris Bird :  Double Carport 6.0 x 5.0m:
Jun 15, 2015
Great communication. Prompt delivery and great wagon driver...nothing too much trouble. Unloaded and placed exactly were I wanted it. The packaging was great and all bits were present. So far a 5 star service. Unfortunately one of the 6m roof beams was very badly warped when I laid all the beams out yesterday so it will probably be unusable or cause puddling / unevenness in roof. Overall therefore 2 stars. I know that wood is a natural product but quality control should have rejected this particular beam as it is so bad and warped in two directions. However, an email was sent and replacements arrived the next day.
Gillian Grace :  Emma Corner Log Cabin 3m x 3m:
Jun 14, 2015
fell in love with this cabin SO dissapointed the finish is pore in so many ways qullity and finish leaves me cold.cheap window & door furniture.my friends is far better standard/quality supplyed by local company