The website uses cookies to allow us to better understand how the site is used. By continuing to use this site, you consent to this policy. Click to learn more.
 
Home Reviews

Reviews

Additional Customer Detailed / Picture reviews as well as Independent reviews can be seen here: Tuin Detailed Reviews

5 stars
 
4 stars
 
3 stars
 
2 stars
 
1 stars: 
 

David Hudson :  Ermelo Fence Panel:
Jul 24, 2019
Avoid, recently bought these based on previous reviews but the quality was so poor, the image on this website is very misleading. At first I was told there was a £160 return fee even though these were not fit for purpose then when I had to send images of how poor they looked I soon got a free return and refund. Much better quality from your local diy store.
Catherine Stewart-Liberty :  Potting Bench:
Jul 9, 2019
My husband took over 3 hours to assemble this bench, his carpentry abilities are better than average, it was extremely hard to assemble compared for instance to products from Ikea.
Sean Barry :  Adjustable Post Support:
May 6, 2019
Cut and drilled post with 10mm drill bit per instructions, thread on screw looks closer to 11mm so very tight fit inserting into post. Had to use pliers to screw the thread up into the post. The welding of the bottom plate was very flimsy and sheared off as the bolt was inserted. Extracted with difficulty, will be contacting Tuin for a replacement
Dec 12, 2018
I was very disappointed with this product. The doors did not fit, they are too tight. The hinges are pre installed and all the fixing holes are Pre drilled so there is no issue with the installation. The shed could do with bracing as once constructed it has movement from left to right. This results in the top of the doors appearing out of line. The treatment of the timber washed off in rain staining the paved area the shed is sat on. I expected more for £500 so I’m pretty disappointed in this product.
Oct 23, 2018
Awful, don't be persuaded by the notes on their website. I bought a cheaper log cabin ten years ago and this time i thought i would get the best i could afford. Their website goes on about how good the wood is they use in their log cabins, whereas in realty, it's just as bent and warped as everyone else's. Their website video says not to use any nails/screws when putting together, BUT THERE IS NO WAY YOU CAN DO THAT. The wood is so warped i had to put vertical bars all around to pull out the twists!
I bought a zutphen modern cabin and the instructions are nonexistent! Even the basic schematic is wrong (count the Logs!) I had no idea how to fit the windows (look at other people's photos).
Save your money and buy a cheaper log cabin From a UK company.
Sep 22, 2018
I would definitely not recommend these, agree with the other 1 star reviewer. Badly bowed and unable to straighten properly, what I did find to be very poor is that for a 6x4 cabin they came in 3m lengths so had to be joined, the composite is not stable in varied temperature, contracts badly in frost therefore comes apart at the joint. Now impossible to get water tight, so in heavy rain water gets in. Very dissatisfied and disappointed. Not sure what to do now to get water tight.
Steven Ford :  Lianne Modern Log Cabin 3x2m:
Jun 5, 2018
After reading reviews and doing a lot of research this seemed like the best choice and a professional Company,
The delivery driver was amazing so that was a good start but that was the only good part The bad points,
I know there are videos to watch
But the instructions are really a waste of time very poor.
When opening the packaged which was covered in dead bugs which only scared my wife and to be fair seemed well packed.
I placed the timer in flat piles and could notice the some timbers were warped and only become a problem when putting together, also had some bad splits I was starting to question the quiaty of this product, parts missing including a roll of roof felt, me and my carpenter started Friday and had to be finished of Sunday because of all the issues, we had to strengthen it with batterns as it was flimsy, the window had to be taken apart as it did not open,poorly put together, the roof joists were 2 different and not the same as the poor instructions, the trouble with the warped log boards is because they are not straight they put the rest of the door boards out and make it so much harder, all we have been offered were 3 new rolls of felt which is not good enough.
I am a very experienced D.i.Y er but this was a nightmare.
We did call several times Friday only to get an answer machine but did get a call back and was sent the same poor instructions no help at all, and were closed over the weekend.
Not had any help from customer service really, and you can tell a good company about the way they put the problems right.
I can only give 1 star at the moment untill I receive some of my money back.
This log cabin was not cheap and I expected so much more from this experience .
I know there can be a few issues but this was beyond a joke and felt sorry for my carpenter who had to spend extra time resolving them.

Some of the Timber had more of a bend than a David Beckham
Free kick, just be cautious when buying..
Tuin reply: We are sorry this has not been a good experience with this building and problems have occurred. I understand the team are in contact with you regarding this.
Oct 18, 2017
We purchased these foundation beams to aid the build of our cabin, sadly they only caused frustration as each length was curved to such an extent the lead beams need to be clamped to the composite in order to fix in place. Massively time consuming.
Tuin reply: Thank you for your feedback.
We are sorry to hear these were bowed, being plastic they can easily move but generally they can be pulled back into shape as you did or left in the sun the opposite way to remove any bow.

We can also send out any replacements needed for a next day AM delivery.

We are sorry if this was more time consuming than expected.
Thomas Mellish :  Storm Kit for Log Cabins:
Jun 27, 2017
Poor quality metal and fixings, only 1 set requires where as the description doesn't tell you that 1 set will do 4 corners-very misleading.
Wish I'd have made my own-£40 odd for some threaded bar and some nuts and bolts a rip off
Tuin reply: Thank you for your review, the description states a 'set' which we assume is understood, we will of course now change this based on your review. This has though been described as a set for many years without an issue.

We do give instructions for a timber set and try to give as best a description as possible. We are disappointed this was not clear for you and apologise for the error.

We apologise if you found the term 'set' misleading. If additional sets were ordered in error please ask for us to collect them and we will of course do so and offer a refund.
Thomas Mellish :  Log Cabin Air Vent:
Jun 27, 2017
poor quality and expensive
Tuin reply: Thank you for your review. We would be interested to know where the quality fails, please could you elaborate?

After much research and trying to source the best product for a log size the price is adequate. We think this is not bad value compared to those in the market. We do advise though you can source alternative styles and designs locally which maybe suitable at alternative prices.

Certainly if a customer finds a better, suitable product we would be interested in it and sourcing it as an alternative. We have though tried our best with this vent so it is suitable in our opinion in size, quality and suitability.

We would appreciate your thoughts on how the quality can be improved, the price and suitability and look forward to hearing from you.
Jun 4, 2017
Me and Kayleigh bought this pod and we were very disappointed!!!! My roof was leaky and there was air drafting in via the gap in the windows!!! :(((( This is not due to the builder (Kayleigh) as she is a very experienced wigwam builder. Nightmare.
Tuin reply: Thank you for your review which is very concerning.

We have not had any contact from you regarding this. Please send pictures of your install and of the problems you are having and we can advise and rectify these for you.

Log Cabins are quite different from a wigwam and need some skills and set guidelines to avoid problems, expecially regarding the felt shingles and window fitment, please see this page for advice on log cabins: https://www.tuin.co.uk/blog/tuin-tuindeco-log-cabins-instruction-manual/

With pictures of your issues we can assist, we look forward to hearing from you and helping you with this.
Mr. Michael Butler :  Wooden Pergola 3x3m:
Sep 13, 2016
Not the quality i expected for the money. 2 lengths were damaged very very big knots. Instructions missing and none of the screws were the correct length. Not impressed.
Leonard Jenkins :  Log Cabin Air Vent:
Aug 20, 2016
All very well in explaining the need for a vent but what about some advice on fitting? Do you drill holes in the logs or cut out a lump with a jigsaw. Might seem obvious to some but not to me. I've bought two and need advice on how to prepare the logs prior to screwing in the plates, I presume one inside and one outside. And where is the best place to fit them?
Tuin reply: Thank you for your review, please see the product page for advice on how to fit them: https://www.tuin.co.uk/Log-Cabin-Air-Vent.html

For additional advice on ventilation and the location please see this page: https://www.tuin.co.uk/blog/ventilation-in-log-cabins/

If we can help any further please let us know.
Mrs. Lin Birch :  Hardwood quality Tree Seat:
Jul 25, 2016
Not worth the money! Doesn't live up to picture. Many sections chipped, gouged and some split. Numerous areas have had a water soluble filler used on them. Initially a good colour match when dry but turns yellow and smears when wet.
Tuins seem to have tried their best by replacing 16 sections. Many of the replacement parts were as bad or worse than the originals. They said that there was nothing more they could do. They gave us two options, accept the tree seat as is or take a refund. We had to accept the damaged seat as the garden had been hard landscaped to make it the central feature.
Jul 21, 2016
Waste of money, I may of well paid some joiners to make one. It was so flimsy when erected, pretty sure myself and a few people could of pushed it over as there was no form of bracing. I had to pay some joiners to make it feel like it would stay standing. Facials? What were they about! What stops it from blowing away, nothing. Nothing positive to say about this product, throughly disappointed. I certainly would not reccomend!
Jul 19, 2016
This summerhouse comes in a thousand pieces and the instructions are absolutely rubbish.

We spent several days trying to fafham the instructions out and after many calls of complains to Tiun they finally sent out an engineer Wayne.

Wayne was very helpful and then corrected a peice of wood that had been supplied as cut wrong!

Wayne was helpful but Richard was not. He just replied to emails and refused to answer the phone to us. He emailed back with comments like "the instructions are used europewide and others cope" and "read the instructions".

Richard also confused things further by sending a second set of instructions which contradicted the first supplied set.

If Wayne had not been sent to sort this house then we would have demanded our money back and for Tuin clear out site of their giant Jango firewood.

So with the combination of crap instructions and the summerhouse coming in thousands of unmarked pieces of wood I cannot advise you strongly enough to go elsewhere for a summerhouse than buy anything from this company.
Tuin reply: Thank you for your review.

This is a harder building than normal to install and can seem confusing. I tried to help you considerably out of normal working hours to resolve your problems, unfortunately my wife and family do have priority on my days off hence the email communication. Calls are of course responded to during normal office hours when we are open. During the evenings and Sundays we only offer an email service where we try to assist. We are sorry this was not helpful.

Wayne attended site very quickly during normal work hours and gave you a lot of guidance and resolved every issue for you including showing you how to install quickly and easily.

For other customers we strongly suggest with this building and others of a similar complicated nature to have it installed by an experienced recommended installer or to contact us prior to ordering to see exactly what is involved.

Some of our buildings are NOT a simple, unexperienced DIY project without some skills, knowledge and skill set.

Having said that, with an ability to follow a set of plans and a steady, methodical, approach anyone can install these buildings. Please fully read our advice regarding installation here: https://www.tuin.co.uk/blog/tuin-tuindeco-log-cabins-instruction-manual/
ann hilditch :  Post Holder Screw Down:
Sep 10, 2015
These did not work for my Economist Gazeebo. they were to big, so i bought some from B&Q, these were to tight but i forced them on.
Mr. Alan Leslie :  Zutphen Modern Log Cabin 4.98x2.98m:
Jun 25, 2014
From the beginning of the purchese of log cabin their was a delay that I was told it was going to be available but then received email to say was delayed in Holland , I was willing to wait as this was the one I liked and looked a good size , was about 2 weeks delay and received the cabin pack whitch was delivered nice and neatly on my driveway we then carefully unpacked each piece and went off the list provided in pack as we looked at the assembly of the cabin was not an awful Lott of direction as to how you actually put it together to the example on what is provided ! Nevertheless we attempted it and started with foundation then we managed to get up to roof installation to find that the rafter beams were very warped and the profiled logs wire inadequate in measurement and had to be cut considerably to fit into place was very hard to get them to fit as we never expected them not to fit ! Also the doors beadin around glass in not the same size as the out side so when you look out looks uneven ? Also some of the logs and when I say some probably about 5 were warped and would not sit properly were in both sides but badly warped in middle so we followed advice as to were they get places from what is provided but apart from that have managed to get it all together roof and wooden floating floor and primed and painted , there was concern from me about the warped logs that don't sit as well as all the other logs and the doors look badly fitted as when you look out from inside the beading is bigger on outer side so that's a problem ? Have had to use flexible seal on the logs that were warped inside and out as no moisture can get in , to be honest it looks very nice and it's exactly what I wanted but there was quite a few faults that coursed problems and I was disappointed and feel that it was not good value when there is so many faults that we had to make do with when you have purchesed a new log cabin that you r extcited to make its just disappointing
Mr. Daniel Kincses :  Garden Decking Tile Straight:
Apr 24, 2014
Iam not happy about the service and delivery!
I order my items 21 of March.!Still wait!
I hope,I get before summer!
Thank you!